Coconut Truffles.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

truf8.jpg


Anyone get up in the middle of the night to satisfy a chocolate craving?
Just me? Okay....

Anyhow, you can make this at normal hours too, I guess.

20 minutes and a handful of ingredients and you're in business: Crisp, slightly bitter chocolate enveloping sweet, moist (it's a culinary term perfectly describing the texture, I refuse to trigger warn about a truffle) coconut. Bliss, I tell you.

So none of my recipes so far have been healthy, really...but who drools over recipes of salad?
I added raspberries in the middle to make up for all the chocolate, cream, butter, sugar and general diet-destroying contents of this truffle. It's nearing the end of berry season in RSA, so they're dirt cheap and I've bought far too many. Also, they're plump and tart and beautifully compliment the general saccharine nature of this endeavour. (En-devour, am I right?)...anyway.

This is how you make these little suckers:


truffle1.jpg


Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups fine dessicated coconut (You're welcome to use the fresh stuff, but I'd add coconut extract to amplify the flavour)
  • 1/4 Cup Natural Brown Sugar
  • 1/4 Cup Cream
  • 1 Tbsp Salted Butter
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 200 Grams Semi-Sweet Dark Chocolate
  • 1 Tbsp Raw Coconut Oil.
  • 12- 15 Raspberries.

truf6.jpg


Method:

1.Stretch a piece of cling-film over a plate or tray you can fit in the fridge.

  1. Bang the coconut, cream, butter, sugar and vanilla in a saucepan and heat until butter is melted and the mixture clings to the side of the pot when pressed with the back of a spoon- if too crumbly, add water or milk a tablespoon at a time until moist-I told you I wouldn't trigger warn- and sticky.
  2. Spoon into a bowl to cool it down more quickly.
  3. Break up chocolate and add to a microwave-safe bowl with the coconut oil. Nuke at 30 sec intervals until smooth and melty.
  4. Grab a grape-sized chunk of coconut mixture (test temperature first, we don't want any burns.) and flatten slightly, place raspberry in the middle and fold coconut around it, rolling into a smooth coconutty little ball of deliciousness.
  5. Dunk into chocolate, using a fork to scoop them out and place on that plate covered in clingfilm we discussed earlier.
  6. Chuck 'em in the fridge until set and glossy.
  7. Put one in your mouth. Chew. Savour.
  8. Freeze a couple for later- the texture is amazing.
  9. Thank me later.

* Sweet, sticky koeksisters.

Here's my Instagram should you want to see pictures of food in an informal scrolling environment generally accepted by social media standards.
Official Viral.Crowd Instagram
Here's my personal Instagram for progress on my photography and behind-the-scenes stuff in the kitchen.

Sort:  

This sounds so yummy @whattheduck, I loooove coconut and chocolate! Too much temptation :)

Thanks @lizelle! They're almost too easy- make fighting off the temptation a little difficult!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 20 SBD worth and should receive 85 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66845.00
ETH 3089.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72