Victoria Sponge Cookies!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

cookietn.jpg


Feelin' fancy?
Victorian Sponge Cake is Fancy.

Victorian Sponge Cookies are fancy as duck.

Whip these babies out anywhere and you got yourself a high-tea the frigg'n Queen of England would be proud of.
(Do not put them in your pocket to transport. The berries stain.)

This is how you make them:

Cookies:

  • 1 Cup Salted Butter (Because Salt is Not The Enemy)
  • 1 Cup Castor Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3 cups Cake or all purpose flour

1 . Preheat your oven to 350 F or 180 C
2 . Cream butter, sugar and vanilla until pale and fluffy like Malfoy blowing butterflies.** __________________________

** Exhibit A: Pale and Fluffy. Your butter and sugar must look exactly like this. Whimsical AF.


3 . Add the egg and whip it real good.
4 . Sift in flour and baking powder and fold until you got yourself a dough.
5 . Turn out onto a floured surface and knead lightly until it all comes together in a delicious little ball.
6 . Flatten a little and wrap in clingfilm. Chill in fridge for about 10 minutes before rolling (You can leave it to chill longer, just don't forget your oven's on.I will not be held responsible if you burn your damn house down.)
7 . Roll out to about 1/4 inch /a little over 1/2 cm thickness and cut them into circles. You have no cookie cutter? Use a glass, dude. No excuses.
8 . Stick 'em in a GREASED baking tray and let 'em do their thing for 6 minutes- 8 at most.
9 . Remove from the oven and don' t touch them. They need to recover from the horror of the oven and will crisp up real nice if left in the baking tray.

This recovery period takes approximately 10 minutes, which is all the time you need to make jam and that Chantilly cream frosting. We're getting bougie real quick.

cookie6.jpg


Berry Jam/Compote

  • 300 grams (about 2 cups) Berries of Choice (I used blueberries, raspberries and a lone stray blackberry from my freezer)
  • 125 grams (half a cup) of Sugar, I used natural brown sugar
  • Half a Lemon
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 2 tbsp water
  1. Cook all above ingredients in a heavy-based saucepan over low heat for about 20 minutes until sticky and thickened.
  2. Crush berries if you want. I like them whole.
  3. Stick 'em in a clean jar once cooled.

Chantilly cream frosting:

  • 150 ml Whipping Cream
  • 1 1/2 Cups Confectioners/Icing Sugar
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  1. Sift confectioners sugar into a large bowl and pour in cream and vanilla.
  2. Whisk until lumps disappear and stiff peaks form
  3. I added mine to a piping bag to make pretty swirls, but usually just spoon it on.

To Serve:

Sandwich a tablespoon of jam and a good swirl of cream between 2 cookies.
Serve with tea or a bourbon with a twist.


cookie7.jpg

Sort:  

This cookies should have only three stages or they can be even higher?
I would love to taste them some day!

Your posts are so funny and you are making yummy foods as well! :D Keep up the good work!

Thank @annaskitchen! Can't wait to tell my mama someone thinks I'm funny! I generally get eye-rolls and all my party invites get 'lost in the mail.' I don't mind though, I get to eat all the cookin' by m'sassy self. I'd mail you some but the postman doesn't like the dripping.

I found you commenting on my art work a while ago and tried to explore your account and you know what this post visited me and wow I love to bake cookies but this Victorian sponge is new to me I would love to try this one when I already have the ingredients (HAHA)

Ah thanks for looking me up! Your art is lovely! The cookies are pretty good, and you can substitute the berries with any jam you have at home. The cookies are also good on their own or dipped in chocolate. Let me know how they turn out when you try them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69