4. Egg Basics Part 2: Omel-it (I told you there’d be puns.) Cheese, Rocket and Tomato Omelet(te)?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #recipe6 years ago

Omelet pan.jpg

Omelet or Omelette? Cast your votes now!

So I woke up thinking it was friday. I've been locked up in my house this week, cooking like crazy to get my blog looking like I know what I'm doing. I've been planning a wild mushroom risotto all week, but have to wait for the weekend so I can keep stirring without being interrupted by phonecalls. So, the risotto will have to wait.

Instead, I present to you-The Omelet
Light, nourishing, elegant omelet, and SO easy once you master it. I promise. 10 minutes in and out.

3 eggs can be transformed into either a delicate envelope for mozzarella, parmesan and cheddar to create a 3 cheese omelet, the whites whisked separately to create a fluffy soufflé omelet, or even baked if you don’t have the time to stand at the stove top. Plain omelets can be seasoned with soy, and sliced up to top a Bento box or act as a filler for a Buddha bowl.

For a quick mid-week brekkie, this one is my go-to:
Simple cheese, tomato and rocket omelet.

Omelet ingredients.jpg

Ingredients:

• 3 Fresh eggs
• Splash of milk
• 1tsp olive or vegetable oil
• 1 tsp butter
• 1tbsp Cheese: Mozzarella, Cheddar, Gouda and parmesan are my faves, but mix it up with what you like. I used Cheddar for this one.
• 3 Ripe Roma Tomatoes, sliced
• Handful of fresh rocket, washed.
• Salt
• Pepper

Tools:

• Small bowl
• Frying pan- nonstick or cast iron will make your life a lot easier
• Spatula
• Fork

Method:

Over medium heat, melt butter and oil and ensure the entire bottom surface is coated. This helps impart flavour and prevents the omelet from sticking.

In a separate bowl, lightly whisk your eggs with a splash of milk and season.

Pour into the pan. Once the egg starts catching, bring the cooked scramble to the middle and let the uncooked egg run out to the edge. Once the surface is all but set, sprinkle with cheese, season with salt and pepper and your toppings. Then flip half the omelet over with the spatula.
Serve with crusty toast to wipe up any goodies left behind.

Omelet du Fromage.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51