1. THE DOUGH.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #recipe6 years ago (edited)

DOUGH CU.jpg


Soooo, I’ve never blogged before. I did some homework and learned some things.
These are those things:

1.) WRITE ABOUT YOUR INTERESTS.
Food is an interest? Yes, yes it is.

2.) WRITE ABOUT PERSONAL, MEANINGFUL THINGS.
Food is personal. This dough is meaningful. It has graced cozy rainy Sundays huddled
around a steaming bowl of soup. It has starred in burger cook-outs in my tiny garden.
I may name my firstborn after it. Check.

3.) MAKE A LOGO SO PEOPLE CAN RECOGNIZE YOUR THINGS.
( Even if you have no design experience.)
Done, I guess? ***

VIRAL CROWD EAT.png * * *this is the logo. Feel free to critique.

4.) DON'T BE A DICK. INTRODUCE YOURSELF TO THE NICE FOLKS.
I'm writing under a collective called Viral Crowd. We are a bunch of film makers trying to break into the social media side of things. We are all wildly inexperienced in this area. This is our first stab at blogging.
To kick things off, I’m testing the waters with a food and photography blog.

About Me:
I’m Cooks (because I cook). I also enjoy writing. Now, I’m taking on food photography and sharing the skills I learn along the way.
Criticisms are welcome. I’m a tough cook(s)ie. (There will be puns. You have been warned.)

Let me know if I've missed anything and I'll try and do better next time.

Now, the thing I’m writing about:

You guys. This dough . It’s not just a dough . It’s THE dough.

It has been in my life for nearly 15 years (I’d never really baked before, and found a milk bun recipe online. I followed the instructions about half way, grew impatient and winged it. The accidental product was glorious and I haven’t looked back since.) Now, it’s my go-to when I can’t be bothered looking up a recipe.

It is sacred. It is hallowed. And now, infinite, unforgiving and marvelous people of the internet, it is yours.

BEHOLD IT. It is GLORIOUS!


DSC00096.JPG


Real talk though.

You won’t be making authentic Portuguese rolls, focaccia or cinnamon buns with this dough. BUT this is a quick and versatile substitute when you’re in a pinch, or you’re trying out bread for the first time and struggle to accept failure. (I know the feels. The Dough knows the feels. We understand, and we’re here for you.)

Since it has some leaning towards a brioche recipe, it’s perfect for dinner rolls, only I don’t even bother proofing it. Just bang it right from the counter into the oven for soft, fluffy rolls in an hour, start to finish- ready to be slathered with butter and consumed before anyone notices you’ve made them. (We are not skinny. We are also not ashamed.)

It’s happy acting as pull-apart bread with sweet or savoury fillings, burger buns, beautiful crusty cottage loaves, donuts or even tortillas, naan or flatbread. This dough worms its way seamlessly into so many recipes without needing hours and hours of time to proof. (It does, however, act like a little rock star when left to its own devices for a couple of hours or even overnight) Just a little tweaking and variations in treatment, and you’re golden.

I use this dough for an Olive and Rosemary loaf which has become a regular fixture in my house to drag through olive oil or dip into slow cooked roasted tomato and red pepper soup. It also makes pretty bad ass burger buns for a Saturday get together with friends. (I’d like to take this moment to thank Heston Blumenthal for teaching me what a burger should be. I am forever in your debt. Seriously, there are tutorials. Find them. It will change your life.)

The basic recipe just needs little tweaks to create a whole now thing each time.

Here’s the dough. I hope it is as kind to you as it has been to me.

INGREDIENTS:

• 1 Tbsp active dry yeast ( The cheap instant stuff works a charm.)
• 3.5 cups All-purpose flour . Save a little extra- about half a cup- for dusting or adjusting if it’s particularly humid (I’ve also tried it with cake flour and it works just fine. This dough, you guys.)
• 1 tsp Salt
• 3 tbsp White or light brown sugar. (The really treacle-y brown stuff is great for monkey bread or cinnamon buns)
• 1/4 cup of melted butter- (you can replace half the butter with olive oil if you are doing a savoury loaf and want
something a little less fluffy )
• 1/2 cup of milk
• 1/2 cup of water.
• 1 Egg (Can be omitted if you have at least 30 mins to prove the dough. Replace with an extra tablespoon of butter or
oil.)

TOOLS:

• 2 Bowls- one microwaveable (or a pot, if you’d rather use the stove)
• Measuring cup/ (I just use a coffee cup.)
• Large Spoon
• A wooden surface
• Your hands (or a dough hook If you’re feeling fancy.)
• Cling Film or a clean kitchen towel
• Vessel to cook it in, (baking sheet, muffin tray, cast iron oven proof skillet, your mom’s favourite casserole dish- anything oven proof, really.)
DSC00106.JPG

METHOD:

  1. Put all but one cup of flour and salt into a large bowl. I keep the extra cup aside to more easily incorporate the liquids and make sure the dough doesn’t end up too dry. We’re going for the texture of soft, warm play dough.

  2. In another bowl, heat the milk and water until it’s just hot enough for you to stick a finger in it without burning it. This takes around 40 seconds in the microwave, or 4 minutes in a pot. Remove from heat and add the butter (and oil, if using) and allow it to melt (This helps cool the mixture). Add the sugar and yeast and stir. Give it a minute to dissolve and go nice and foamy on top. Add the egg and stir to combine.

  3. Make a well in the flour and pour in the liquid all at once.

  4. Use a spoon to bring it all together, until it just forms a ball. If it’s more sauce than dough, sprinkle in flour a little at a time until starts coming together.

  5. Now, tip it out onto a wooden surface (if you have one, it just helps keep the dough nice and warm, speeding up the rising process, otherwise just turn it out onto the warmest patch on your kitchen counter) and gently knead until it forms a soft, silky ball of dough. Rinse your mixing bowl and don’t bother drying it. To make it even easier to handle, swipe it with a little oil. Put the dough back in bowl and cover it with cling film or a clean, dampened kitchen towel and leave it in a nice warm corner. .

You are now in possession of The Dough. Treat it kindly.

As is, you can divide it into 12 dinner rolls or a loaf of soft, fluffy bread- just shape and season as desired.
If you’re feeling fancy, sift some extra flour on them (good thing you kept some aside) and make pretty cut marks on them with a sharp, non-serrated knife, or just brush a little milk and or butter on them for a beautiful golden glow:
Now you’re ready to bake in a preheated oven at 180 Celsius/360 Fahrenheit. 20 mins for buns, or 45 minutes for a loaf.

Here's a sneak preview of the Olive and Rosemary loaf I make with this dough- I'll be posting a how-to for that with a recipe for my favourite soup here ASAP.

DSC00131.JPG

Easiest way to tell if they’re cooked is to pick it up. If it’s light and sounds hollow when tapped, it’s cooked. Because I’m terrible at remembering to set a timer, I’ve learned they’re just about there when the entire house smells like a bakery.

Best served hot out the oven and slathered with an excessive layer of salted butter.
They’re pretty epic dipped into olive oil, balsamic vinegar and black pepper cracked into a side plate before dinner, too.

I’ll be posting a bunch of variations in the coming weeks, just search ‘THEDOUGH’ and let me know if you come up with anything new, I’d love to see what you come up with.

For now, I must clean the disaster area that is my lounge (Today I learned that apparently food photography doesn't always happen in the kitchen. )

If you do try out the dough- send me pics of your creations below, I'd love to see 'em!

Sort:  

Nice picture!
You got an upvote, so it would be kind to follow this account for more upvotes in the future :)

Hi Tomole,

Thanks for the compliment! Followed back x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69