Penitensya (Penance)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

WARNING

The following scenes are graphic in nature and is a part of the culture in our country. I have shot all the photos in black and white to lessen the intensity of the following scenes. The scenes includes severe self punishment which some may find offensive. I strongly advise the viewers not to proceed if you believe that the subject maybe distressful for you. Otherwise if it is something you could handle, then come and join me today as I take you to witness...............


Penitensya (Penance)

1.JPG

thorns.png

2.JPG

It took me days of planning and self preparation in order to cover this event which happens during Good Friday every year. I first witnessed this event when I still worked on a night shift years ago. I was riding the bus on my way home which was slowly moving due to the traffic caused by the procession. When I looked outside the window I saw the bloodiest scene due to self punishment. I closed down the window and in my mind I said it was something I did not want to see again. I have very low tolerance in the sight of blood which causes me nausea and dizziness. This year I already planned ahead to prepare myself for the scenes which I was about to see again.

3.JPG

It was around 4:30 am and people were already out on the streets waiting for the group of people who would perform the act. People from all ages were waiting patiently to witness the event.

4.JPG

Then came a batch of people wearing white shirts and had their faces covered. The sound of pieces of wood clanking together which I find to sound dreadful and frightening.

5.JPG

Tied to a rope the pieces of wood are swung by them at their backs while walking in a straight line.

6.JPG

I saw the first group with backs already bloodied and I did not know how to react. I kept telling myself that it's just fake blood and to just keep on shooting. My wife was with me and I had her wait at the nearest convenience store. In case it gets too intense for me I'll just be running back to her and head home.

7.JPG

This practice is done as a sign of repentance and to gain forgiveness for their sins. Self punishment by inflicting pain upon one's self is their way to change and ask for forgiveness.

8.JPG

9.JPG

10.JPG

11.JPG

12.JPG

On the street to the right they turn which heads towards the ocean. I was told that all of them will bathe in the ocean to wash away the blood and all their sins with it. The local official made sure that traffic was routed accordingly. The vehicles would need to wait until the group passed.

13.JPG

Just when I thought I have seen the worse. I heard the sound of the pieces of wood clanking together which is an indication that another group was about to pass. This time the sound was louder and which is much more frightening. The street was filled with people and a very large group was headed my way. I did not know if I would walk towards the group or back away. I had to make a choice and decided to brave it out and head towards their direction.

14.JPG

More people were out on the street with their mobile phones up high taking a video of the act.

15.JPG

16.JPG

A scene which I dreaded years ago was right it front of me now. I had mixed emotions which I could not explain. More than 60 people all inflicting self punishment at the same time.

17.JPG

I was told that prior this act their backs are slashed by razor blades to induce the flow of blood. Knowing this fact made me feel nauseous just thinking about how those blades slice their backs.

18.JPG

I followed the group from behind and while taking the shots. I felt something drip on my arm and at that point I already knew that it was blood. It was coming from the pieces of wood that is being swung around. I had to head back to my wife to get a drink of water and to wash away the blood on my arm.

19.JPG

I had to go back to finish what I started. I headed again towards the back of the group and noticed that some of the people were also being sprayed with droplets of blood. On their feet, clothes and some on their faces. I had to keep my distance from that point.

20.JPG

21.JPG

I was witnessing the bloodiest penance in our province. A part of our culture which may sound unbelievable until you see it with your own eyes. This is done every year and it is the first time for me witness it. I find it very intense and something I am not sure if I would be covering again next year.

22.JPG

23.JPG

From the bloodied group I saw something else. A man with his face covered in black, walking barefoot, wearing a costume like garment and carrying a cross. This is his way of penance. It seems that there are other ways in showing their repentance.

24.JPG

25.JPG

26.JPG

After the large group has passed. A smaller group followed you would notice that there are people who are carrying large water containers. These containers are filled with salt water which are poured to their back. Just not sure if it eases the pain when it is too much to handle. When ever it is poured to their back you could see the blood washing down on the street. I felt I have seen enough blood for the day and headed back to my wife as it was time to go home.

27.JPG

28.JPG

29.JPG

Something which maybe hard to comprehend for some. This is a belief which is a part of our culture. We all have our own ways of repentance and asking for forgiveness. These acts are their own choosing and beliefs. It is still up to us how we carry our burden.

30.JPG

thorns 2.png


Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness
Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness
To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and Sigma 50mm 1.4

Snake new 2.jpg

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

watersnake101.png

Sort:  

This is a practice I don't approve of. Why do you need to inflict pain just to show your faith? And in public? But that's their choice.

You are brave to cover this event and up close! Kudos to you for someone who can't tolerate blood. You should teach your techniques in photography :D

It is surprising that I was able to pull it off. I was worried days before as the sight of blood is something I really have a hard time dealing with. Self inflection of pain is quite unnatural but this event is one of those unique cultures that we have that adds fascination to our country. Thanks for appreciating my work. I am no pro but ask away anytime my friend. 😊

Akala ko na re-steem ko na to di pa pala hehe.

Buti di ka natrauma? Hehe. Un kapatid nahihilo pag nakakakita ng dugo. Un isang pamangkin ko namumutla pag may sugat at may dugo kahit galos lang gusto nya band-aid agad. I don't know if we have that kind of parade/practice here. I am not aware of such.

Ano palang significance ng pagcover nila ng face?

Ay naku naiisip ko pa din until now lol. Also as far as I know this act is condemned by the Catholic church but still done every year. Covering their faces is to protect their identity masabihan sila na maraming kasalanan as it is humiliating in public. Pero meron akong narinig from the crowd, " Diba si ano yan? Bakit sya nandyan? sagot ng kasama nya, "Oo wag ka maingay".

Ah okay. Oo nga. Bat di ko naisip yun hehe. This reminds me of UP's oblation run. Sigaw ka lang ng kung anong mga pangalan at may mapapalingon sa mga hubad na tumatakbo haha!

I would not go there to cover this. It's too intense and stressed for me. And too much pain. Seeing your photos and reading your words already make me feel the pain. You are really brave to shoot so many photos. And thanks for making the photos in black and white.

Oh it was very stressful but I had to gi thru it to change myself. Facing my fears I almost went home when I got splattered. It was maybe too intense from what I expected. I went monochrome all the way on my camera settings. There is no way I'm keeping colored photos for this event lol.

The colored memory is burnt into your mind. Hope you have a Dory's memory like me.

I am, sadly, or fortunately, way too desensitized due to the internet. I don't think that I would feel anything but intrigue in this event, and your pictures sure seem interesting.

I don't think I'd ever participate in something like this, not even remotely. Every time I make a mistake, I think of solving things for the future. I try not to regret and I don't look much toward the past, even less try to punish myself in any way for my wrong choices.

Self punishment in this form is denounced and condemned by the Catholic Church in the area. They moved the event to a different location for them to be able to perform the act. Punishment on one's self is not a solution but sadly we cannot make the choices that people make in life.

Wow, thank you for taking the time to share these pictures with us. That is an interesting part of your culture. It is crazy that blood was splattering on people standing around. Also that they start the blood flow with slicing with razor blades!! Wow!!

Still makes my stomach turn while thinking about it. What is more crazy some people who got splattered seems to be happy about it. Hard to explain it. Anyway I hope I was able to open a small window in one of our bizarre cultures. Not sure if I could do it again next year.

I got chills reading this. This was an amazing photo shoot. I have never seen anything like this.

Hi @eroche this was an event that we planned ahead as I wanted to share with #culturevulture. I always keep my eye out for cultural subjects and try my best to tell it in the best possible way I can thru the lens and my heart. It brings me joy knowing that my work is appreciated. Thank you very much and I will continue to share life around us as it happens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55