Wander Snaps #3: The Majestic Borobudur and Prambanan Temples in Jogja, Indonesia

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! I'm back with my Wander Snaps. This is the twin sister of my Wander Blog series. If you've seen my Wander Blog before, I tell my travel story there and then post more photos in the Wander Snaps after. There are a lot of photos that I want to share because it's a nice way to share my travel experiences, but not all photos can fit my blog.

Today's Wander Snaps is in connection to my blog on Climbing the Massive Temples of Yogyakarta, Indonesia. You can check it out to know my travel story. But it's okay if you don't have time. I have put in some side stories and description on the photos below so you have an idea what I experienced.


Yogyakarta a.k.a. Jogja


The narrow Sosrowijaya Street. The main backpacker hub in Jogja.
DSC01919.JPG

Walking around Jogja at night
DSC01937.JPG


Borobudur Temple




Entrance to the temple. It's a long walk.
DSC01970.JPG


Stairs and more stairssss!
DSC01972.JPG



The magnificent facade
DSC01973.JPG



Time to climb this huge piece of history
DSC01984.JPG


Every corner is a masterpiece
DSC01990.JPG



Buddha's story told on these walls
DSC01994.JPG


Just one of the hundreds of Buddha statues in this temple
DSC02005.JPG



And another one
DSC02024.JPG



The steps get steeper on the higher levels
DSC02015.JPG



The highest level with the dome at the center
DSC02042.JPG


Stupa which are bell-shaped bricks enclosing a Buddha statue inside
DSC02035.JPG

Up-close
DSC02051.JPG


Some of the stupa have been destroyed over the centuries and now exposes some statues
DSC02050.JPG



Such a great view and..uhm.. a photobomber haha
DSC02060.JPG

Overlooking Jogja
DSC02070.JPG


Time to go down...scared (of heights)!
DSC02084.JPG



Every angle is just sooo beautiful!

DSC02088.JPG



Photo of the top view photo at the Tourism information
DSC02097.JPG


Prambanan Temple


Entrance to the temple
DSC02120.JPG

The facade
DSC02121.JPG


Taken from the back side of the complex, lesser signages from here
DSC02122.JPG

The temples may look the same but each is dedicated to a different Hindu god
DSC02131.JPG

So much artistic detail
DSC02136.JPG



Have to wear a helmet inside the temple
DSC02141.JPG

The story of Ramayana captured on these walls
DSC02143.JPG


A statue of one of the gods inside the temple (whose name I forgot to take note of)
DSC02150.JPG


Some temples can be crowded
DSC02210.JPG


Now I'm hungry
DSC02232.JPG


Ramayana Ballet


Went back to Prambanan that night to watch the Ramayana and Sita Ballet
DSC02233.JPG


Prambanan on spotlight -the best background for the play
DSC02275.JPG



Professional performance
DSC02280.JPG

One of the best scenes
DSC02292.JPG



The awesome cast
DSC02309.JPG



The musical instruments used

DSC02311.JPG

And these are just a few of the hundreds of photos I took that day! I hope you enjoyed browsing through it.

Which one among the photos is your favorite?

Photos taken using Sony NEX-C3D

Join the Steemit Travellers on Discord

Sort:  

I couldn't possibly pick one favourite!! They are all spectacular:) I love the architecture, and I often wonder about the time they were all constructed and the intelligence required. Some of my favourites here were of course all the Buddha statues (I like to study Buddhism...such a great way to live!), the stupas are so cool, the helmets (is it because of possible falling debris/rock?), the view from the play was beautiful...I'd say all of your photos were my favourites haha This is now on my list of places to go one day!! Thank you again:) Cheers!

I'm also amazed how they were able to construct such a huge masterpiece during those times. And yes the helmet is used for protection in Prambanan because you go inside really small spaces where the Hindu statues are. It's for possible debris falling and maybe to protect your head as well, especially tall Westerners the might hit their head on low ceilings/doors.

The play would be a romantic place for you and your husband. Just giving you a travel date tip if you visit Yogyakarta ;)

Of course...tall westerners:)

And of course, why didn't I think of date night in Yogyakarta:)!! It totally would be though! You'll be the first to know if we decide on it!!

There's a really nice restaurant just almost on the other side of the stage. And you can have dinner here before the show. The ambiance is really nice like a fine dining resto and then you have the lit up temple as your view. I only had a juice here because I remember it was out of my budget and I just wanted to stay there while waiting for the show. :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=wanderlass
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wander-snaps-3-the-majestic-borobudur-and-prambanan-temples-in-jogja-indonesia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wanderlass from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I didn't know that Indonesia has Hindu temple, temples looks very south Indian though :)

Cool that it has resemblance to India! This place is in Central Java but they also have more smaller ones in Bali area. Bali is predominantly Hindu :)

oh ... glad to know that :)

Have been there. I loved Borobudur.
It was a sunny day, and the place looked beautiful :D

You've been everywhere @koskl! :) The temples are indeed beautiful. It was also sunny when I was there and good time to travel :)

Beautiful. Amazing how we so often forget there are Pyramids in this corner of the world as well.

Yes, there are a lot of ancient structures here too :)

O.O Amazed at the temple pictures. The detail of sculpture on the walls makes me wonder how long it took the builders to erect the temples!

I fail to remember those facts haha siguro enough na ung memorization during Asian history class. But I know with Borobudur it was even hidden for a time, grabe that huge temple was hidden and narediscover lang uli nila. Nakaka amaze how they built it na walang machines.

Yun ang mystery doon. How it was built without machines, why it was hidden/forgotten. Mga ganon! Nakakaexcite

I love Jogja! I lived there for almost 4 months to study Indonesian Arts and Culture. Been to the places you’ve mentioned too and they’re all lovely!

Oh you're so lucky to have stayed there for months and even studied their culture. I bet you're able to appreciate these historical sights more because of your knowledge. I wish I could stay longer than a few weeks because there are still a lot places I have missed. :)

Indeed, I totally appreciated the historical sights you mentioned including the efforts of the government in preserving the heritages --> towards tourism industry without altering the heritages. I was sadden by simply taking into considerations our "Intramuros". It played a significant role into our history, yet, there is a slum parts inside the intramuros. I am not against those families (which somehow made some parts of the intramuros a squatter-like figure) but I'm questioning the system of our government. If only they'll do something about it, then cultural heritage is totally an asset for a growing tourism industry ++ other related factors.

I agree. Intramuros can be world class. I remember during the Wow Philippines campaign, Intramuros was at its peak. There were slums but tourism was doing great. There were weekly activities featuring different places in the PH but it died after they changed the Tourism secretary. This was during my university days. I went back a few months ago and it isn't as interesting anymore. I hope they realize the importance and potential of Intramuros for Manila's tourism.

Exactly! I was once a performer of Region X too during those wow Philippines times. I kept on visiting Intramuros cause the National Commision for Culture and the Arts building is inside Intramuros...and I just can’t take that it wasn’t well taken cared of.

It must be very fun, can walk to a preferred place, in fact I also have the same hobby, but unfortunately many factors that make me can not meet the hobby of walking like you, in Indonesia alone there are many places I have never visited, let alone to the outside country.
I really want to meet you, and this is the right moment when you are in Indonesia. But the distance from ACEH to JAWA is far away, and I have never been there. hopefully we can meet at a later time.
Have fun @Wanderlass, keep your health well.

You can visit the Philippines :) I'm sure you'll be successful in Steemit and then you will have more time to travel anywhere! It would be nice to meet you and take you around the country :)

Amin ...
May your words become a reality of success in this steemit, and I also pray for you, may you also be a successful and great person in steemit. That way you will be more free to travel around the world like @sweetssj, do you like it?

Thank you. I also dream to live her life of travel. She is very successful here in Steemit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37