You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wander Snaps #3: The Majestic Borobudur and Prambanan Temples in Jogja, Indonesia

in #photography7 years ago

I love Jogja! I lived there for almost 4 months to study Indonesian Arts and Culture. Been to the places you’ve mentioned too and they’re all lovely!

Sort:  

Oh you're so lucky to have stayed there for months and even studied their culture. I bet you're able to appreciate these historical sights more because of your knowledge. I wish I could stay longer than a few weeks because there are still a lot places I have missed. :)

Indeed, I totally appreciated the historical sights you mentioned including the efforts of the government in preserving the heritages --> towards tourism industry without altering the heritages. I was sadden by simply taking into considerations our "Intramuros". It played a significant role into our history, yet, there is a slum parts inside the intramuros. I am not against those families (which somehow made some parts of the intramuros a squatter-like figure) but I'm questioning the system of our government. If only they'll do something about it, then cultural heritage is totally an asset for a growing tourism industry ++ other related factors.

I agree. Intramuros can be world class. I remember during the Wow Philippines campaign, Intramuros was at its peak. There were slums but tourism was doing great. There were weekly activities featuring different places in the PH but it died after they changed the Tourism secretary. This was during my university days. I went back a few months ago and it isn't as interesting anymore. I hope they realize the importance and potential of Intramuros for Manila's tourism.

Exactly! I was once a performer of Region X too during those wow Philippines times. I kept on visiting Intramuros cause the National Commision for Culture and the Arts building is inside Intramuros...and I just can’t take that it wasn’t well taken cared of.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39