You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wander Snaps #3: The Majestic Borobudur and Prambanan Temples in Jogja, Indonesia

in #photography7 years ago

I couldn't possibly pick one favourite!! They are all spectacular:) I love the architecture, and I often wonder about the time they were all constructed and the intelligence required. Some of my favourites here were of course all the Buddha statues (I like to study Buddhism...such a great way to live!), the stupas are so cool, the helmets (is it because of possible falling debris/rock?), the view from the play was beautiful...I'd say all of your photos were my favourites haha This is now on my list of places to go one day!! Thank you again:) Cheers!

Sort:  

I'm also amazed how they were able to construct such a huge masterpiece during those times. And yes the helmet is used for protection in Prambanan because you go inside really small spaces where the Hindu statues are. It's for possible debris falling and maybe to protect your head as well, especially tall Westerners the might hit their head on low ceilings/doors.

The play would be a romantic place for you and your husband. Just giving you a travel date tip if you visit Yogyakarta ;)

Of course...tall westerners:)

And of course, why didn't I think of date night in Yogyakarta:)!! It totally would be though! You'll be the first to know if we decide on it!!

There's a really nice restaurant just almost on the other side of the stage. And you can have dinner here before the show. The ambiance is really nice like a fine dining resto and then you have the lit up temple as your view. I only had a juice here because I remember it was out of my budget and I just wanted to stay there while waiting for the show. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39