Creative Places : Landscapes Through a Railroad Car [Sndbox Challenge]

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

stone-animation.gif

The Habitual Look of Things


Train windows thread through hundreds of textures, patterns and environments. The stop and go rhythm keeps my senses locked onto the mysteriously epileptic landscapes whizzing by. Brick, stone, green, parking lot, city, suburb... I'm easily seduced by it. Honestly, I rarely draw, write or listen to music while on the train. But I still create. My eyes queue in and ideas fly across them like slides on a film strip. This is my most creative place.

street-animation.gif

Harlem, 125th Street. All images here are recorded from a train trip that I took last weekend.

Every time I take the train I think about film. This is why I chose my image to be an animated cycle of texture and place. I'll end with one of my favorite quotes (one that many of my readers have seen me repeat)...

“If pictorial expression has changed, it is because modern life has necessitated it...The view through the door of the railroad car or the automobile windshield, in combination with speed, has altered the habitual look of things. A modern man registers a hundred times more sensory impressions than an eighteenth-century artist...” - Fernand Léger (1914)

building-passby-animation.gif

trees-animation.gif


This post is an entry to the @sndbox weekly creative challenge. "Where is your favorite place to create?"


follow-voronoi.gif

Sort:  

Hey so hey so creative it's really awesome !! Wanted to introduce my youngest daughter
https://steemit.com/family/@ryan313/a-real-meaningful-job-that-i-m-trying-to-do-well

I like the timelapse animation. How did you get the camera to be so still on a moving train?

Thank you! There was a convenient rubber edge surrounding the window. I pressed my iphone up against it with my palm and got good (steady) results. Nothing too fancy :)

Nice move! I was thinking you maybe had a tripod set up but that would probably take up too much space, especially in New York.

That is awesome!!

Glad you enjoyed it @sizuka :D

very fantatsic photography ❤️🌸
always be hapy and keep it up

Thank you for the kind words @nomishiekh!

a very good post. if you have spare time, visit my blog to have a look :)

Thanks, sure I'll check it out :)

"Epileptic landscapes?" OK, I guess. The combination of dynamic images is very powerful. Great post!

Makes you dizzy! I stand by the epileptic description... there's a strata of multiple landscapes that flush by the "screen" at different rates. Trees fly by as a texture in the foreground while buildings in the distance walk by more slowly. Each layer of land moves at a different rate, but all seen through the same lens.

it shows your skill of taking perfect caption, good luck for the contest, upvoted

Many thanks!

Mann these photos are just great!! you are very talented

i hope you are doing well <3 i noticed that u like adventure posts. Do you know what parkour is? i explain it all from my point of view and experience. if that sounds interesting to you i invite you to take a look on my post <3 https://steemit.com/write/@malos10/i-explain-what-is-parkour-and-its-impact-on-my-life

damn best lines "If pictorial expression has changed, it is because modern life has necessitated it... "

I love that line. 100 years old and still good!

That is awesome!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86