I explain what is parkour and its impact on my life

in #write7 years ago (edited)

Hello guys like some already know and many more dont , I have been doing parkour for 5 years and it has become my lifestyle, I learned many things from it, so I would like to talk about what it is, its benefits and its philosophy . To Help people understand that they are not just risky jumps without meaning.

Then we start with the most basic: What is parkour?

Parkour: comes from "parcours" meaning "route" in French.

Fuente

In its most pure definition is the Art of Displacement. It consists of going from point A to point B as quickly and efficiently as possible, using only the human body.

In parkour training you learn to climb walls, jump from heights with the appropriate technique, overcome obstacles and overcome your fears.

The goal of training (which may vary with each practitioner) is to train strong people physically and mentally able to respond to an emergency and be useful to society.

Okay, Reny, but how could be useful the ability to make big leaps?

Many people only see such jumps as an extreme sport more. But behind each extreme jump there is a physical and mental preparation. We do not launch without knowing our abilities, everything is a process where we achieve the personal superation.

Parkour has the "ability" to find a relationship in every situation that presents itself; it is then that we seek a strength both physical and mental, not to be stronger than someone, but rather to be useful to others; train that strength that will allow you to carry your grandson when he's tired.

I can summarize this in one of the mottos characteristic of the discipline:

"Be strong to be useful."


Okey the physical benefits are clear enough, you become stronger and you learn efficient displacement techniques usefull in a real emergency. But parkour also teaches you many things and one of them is:

Nothing great is easily achieved, and not at the first try.

Many times in training there are jumps or routes that I want to do and I try several times, until the 20 attempt , even sometimes i have to return some other day, more rested or even better prepare physically and mentally for that jump.

Parkour teaches you Perseverance, to fight for what you want to achieve!


Parkour gives you control of yourself and you learn how far you can go!

Friends and family on seeing this photograph criticized me for how dangerous it was.

But they forget about my years of training. If I can do 30 pull up in a row and I can hold more than 3 minutes hanging on a bar then why could not I hold 20 seconds at that height?
Do you understand my point?


Parkour promotes fast thinking skills.

Parkour requires people to move in fractions of seconds. These short moments of time cause the brain to exercise its reaction time, improving the reflexes of practitioners.


Overcoming Fear

Fuente

I dare say that this is one of the most difficult aspects of starting at Parkour. For no one is a secret that some jumps are dangerous and challenging and of course they are scary! We are not steel.

The difference is that the parkour practitioner is accustomed to be constantly overcoming these fears, many people have different ways to do it, at least I like to be calm, to wait for me to lower my adrenaline to have my concentration 100%. While a friend liked to feel that adrenaline, take advantage of that "impulse" to make better jumps.

The truth is that to overcome the fear you must face him! Many times the fear makes you see the challenges bigger of what they are and when you try it the first time you realize that it was not so much. When I started in parkour I was afraid to do flips (frontflip, blackflip) and nowadays I make them very easy, everything is mental and parkour gives you mental strength.

Certainly overcoming your fears constantly generates security and personal confidence, and this trust is reflected in all aspects of your life.

Sort:  

Yes, this is a great post, it is so interesting. It was not at all what I was thinking what parkour is. Thank you for writing and sharing!

THIS is REALLY REALLY COOL!

I am really glad you showed this to me. I am SUPER impressed and it's a fantastic summary of parkour and it's serious and useful nature. I'm very envious of your youth and strength!

Much love brother.

Much love from venezuela my friend <3

Much love TO venezuela buddy, and prayers for relief for your people soon!

Great post! I remember being exposed to Parkour about 16 years ago when I was at university. As students we started to run around on campus, jumping over stuff without any skill... it was fun, but we did not really have the skill or patience to become better.

I really respect the guys putting their body on the line for this art. I guess doing gymnastics or some sort of martial art would help a lot.

Keep and doing what your passion is! Greetings from South Africa.

I really admire u guys. Truly daredevils! How long does it take you to learn or train to have at least the basics of parkour?

Like 6 months my friend maybe

This is really interesting! Thanks for posting

As someone who has seen people doing this out and about and on YouTube, I have always wondered what exactly the people doing it actually get out of it - but have never asked.

It is good to hear a bit about it from an insider

Cheers

I've always been super jealous of people doing parkour- I have health conditions that prevent me from doing parkour or a number of other athletic activities. (I can do other athletic activities like running, hiking, or swordfighting, I just can't do activities in the vein of weightlifting, parkour, or archery). Congrats, though!

Parkour is so Cool but also Scary one miss and you could wake up with Broken Bones.

I am happy to watch it rather than Perform it.

Goodluck to you @malos10

People are so quick to judge when it comes to our true passions. Thanks for sharing and keep on with your bad urban self!

Thanks you too for taking your time to read my article <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98