Big Elbow Trail Near Banded Peak, Kananaskis - part 2 📷

in #photography6 years ago

This hike is contiued from part1 in the lower elevations, now exploring up to the higher alpine meadows. Overall, this hike was still fairly low in elevation as the cold day and rain showed more signs of snow higher up.

Continuing from above the waterfall, there was some great scenery to enjoy.

This one looking out back from our entrance out of the view at middle left of photo. So many of the trees up here are just twisted gnarly stubs since the wind howling past keeps them stubby and twisted up.
ImageText

Here we are up along a trail above the lower canyon line, which although I really wanted to explore, we could see some areas were likely impassable with cliffs and walls. It was already snowing up at the higher elevation and just some light mist down here still. But, nothing to stop from pressing onward.
ImageText

Speaking of these trees, this one was really cool. the branches on these old pines are incredibly tough, so they last for years and easily hold up the whole truck of the tree, as this one did.
ImageText

Here is an example of the clicks and canyon blocks we saw down below in the canyon, which made things look impassible and not something I wanted to test on the way down potentially being stuck.
ImageText

Finally made it up to the end of our trail, in the huge mountainous bowl all around and what a great spot for a hang and some lunch.
ImageText

Gotta say, the scenery despite the grey skies and misty rain, is still just wonderful to relax for some lunch.
ImageText

Heading back down after lunch, I explored some new ridgelines and found all the animal sign, including this very berry rich bear scat. Probably the day before, so no big deal, but I did go solo off on this ridge and the forest was thick and animal scat was EVERYWHERE. Obviously a favorite of the locals, although i didn't see any animals, just sign everywhere.
ImageText

And finally, nearly back to our bikes, one more look up the valley we've descended with the huge waterfall in the middle of the photo, you can just see it spilling over, the same as my last post.
ImageText

And down back at the bike trail, the obligatory panorama photo of the awesome surroundings.
ImageText

I hope you enjoyed these, now I gotta get my gear together for another hike tomorrow in the snow. Its been dumping here this week, so who knows how much there will be in the mountains.

Please comment and follow!

Sort:  

Great post, beautiful landscape with heavy mountains. looks like the nature where I live in the north of Norway, follow you :)

Very Nice Article Share! Keep up the excellent work, and thank you for the upvote! :D

Beautiful county and amazing photography!

Especially the 3rd photograph is very meaningful .. I understand the photograph art .. The art direction is very strong .. congratulations ..

Thanks webcatan for the compliment, I do try to capture some unique scenery, so thanks!

This place is amazing. ..hope to visit one day. And that hammock is straight from dreams....this photos make me feel so cozy😊

Thanks leyla5, it was an awesome place for sure as are so many of my weekends! Can't wait to share my great hammock hangs from my last couple weeks, pretty epic hammock spots I was able to enjoy. Take care!

I see that you really enjoy the journey @unipsycho like to see that mountain photo. thank u..

woow is that deer poop ?

no, not a deer. haha. That would be very berry rich bear poop.

ha..ha.. sorry I do not about that, We do not have bear at my island (Java Island)... so I can not recognize bear poop :)

You got your shots right...nice photos

hey @unipsycho!
Thanks for upvoting me, it allowed me to find you! I love to hike and shoot videos while walking and talking on trails on my YT channel . Its nothing like your hikes though-amazing.
I look forward to more! except the poo, i can do without the poo... 🤢 😁
~ bluerocktalk🖖

haha, I figured someone would say I didn't need that. You are right, I didn't. But hey, sometimes you gotta show what's out there. hehe

Its all good @unipshycho. It gave me a reason to say something other than "that was so beautiful and inspiring!". It was, but you know what i mean. Heck, my friends go looking for Bigfoot scat, so no worries!
~ bluerocktalk🖖

Aloha! I’m too an avid hiker of many crazy trails on Oahu. I had to quit it a few years back for some normalcy and decrease of constant fear of falling to my death.

Thank you for your upvote. I still have Hiking family you can definitely connect with for some f-in crazy hikes on Oahu:
808Cavemanchronicles on Facebook...my peeps...my Hiking family.

Cheers from Sophia S.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66