[OSC] - Photos from Texas - July 20th 2016

in #photography8 years ago

These are some photos I took on 7-20-16, with a few from the day before. I'm still learning to use the Canon 1000D and my Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS STM Telephoto Zoom Lens. I really like black & white photos so I've edited a few here and included the original as well for comparison.

I'm not really happy with my manual focus on the first one, but I like the shot overall so I included it. I wish I'd had my shorter lens with me today because I captured some cool pictures out at my pond with the goldfish huddling up next to a frog. But with the telephoto lens they did not come out like I'd hoped. I will try to capture that again, if I'm lucky, with my shorter lens. I hope you enjoy these!

Click to enlarge


This gal started hanging around yesterday. I caught her right at dawn on the 19th for the first time. She's probably around 75 yards from me and this is the best I could get with my 250mm lens.


And she was back the next day. She's still about 75 yards out. I'm thinking about getting a 400mm lens since my moon shots are not what I had hoped and I'm hoping for a clearer shot of the deer without spooking them trying to get too close.


Trying out some different modes on the camera.


Testing how my 250mm lens would do on a plane.


It was a little cloudy out, but I still liked this shot as it was for some reason. I wasn't using the proper mode to shoot the moon, but it's a little creepy looking coming over the trees and I like it. It looks better enlarged.


This image has been edited in PhotoShop to remove the glow from the surrounding clouds by dropping the exposure level. This was taken on 7-20-16. I really want a 400mm lens now so I can get in good and close.

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

RE: plane picture

Thats the great thing about a zoom lens you can get things a camera phone never would and pretty much the only reason not to just use an iphone.

Those are some nice images Tuck! I use a Canon 550D it's pretty old but shoots well. The 250 needs good stabilization and shoots better from a tripod at max magnification! Manual focus takes getting used to but you'll master it with some practice. :)

Thanks bud! I will likely upgrade my camera in the coming months since I'm really getting into taking pics with a DSLR. I took 213 images today and actually had 144 turn out pretty good and 50 that I really liked. Which is much better than my previous days shooting when I could get 5 out of a 100 that were even in focus. ;)

I live in Japan. Thank you for the very beautiful photo

Did you use a UV filter on the plane ones? Really nice :-)

CG

Yes I did, thanks!

Thank you for your post. . I'm not a photographer, but I like to do a photo View my blog https://steemit.com/@leylar #leylar-photo

Those are really good! upvoted

The second picture in Reflections in the water was really interesting. I like it! :)

Photos are good. Don't worry if there is a desire that everything will turn out. I love black-and-white the photo too, in them there is some magic.

Nice shots, just unfortunate of your zoom capability for the deer one.

Thanks! Yeah. =/ I'm going to have to break down and get a 400mm I guess.

you won't regret it.

Welp, you convinced me so I picked up a used one and it will be here in a few days. I'm going to get this deer in focus just for you! :)

Good photos. Some are too dark.

Yeah my current lens is not really made for dark settings and those photos were taken right at dusk.

3.5 - 5.6 ? Still good. Airplanes, were taken at dusk, too?

No, just the dark deer photos. And the moon shot of course.

Nice :)

I've always loved how texture is so much more enjoyable in black/white photos. :) Thanks for sharing! :)

Keep it Clean!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61220.17
ETH 2979.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73