Travel Tales: Day 2 from Ladakh 2012

Posting from Day 2

Leh – Khardungla – Leh
Day 2 started with finding a reliable jugaad for permits. I had a 1 point contact in Leh who I never really met till that day and was helping me out with almost everything.

So 1st thing to do was to meet him and hand over my ID for permits, I was told Ktop received heavy snowfall the previous day and I should not do it till I feel all comfortable and ready for it. While Salim bhai advised to go since its all about testing yourself. Felt instant adrenaline rush and hunt for a ride started.

1000Rs/ day + Petrol quoted 2 of the bike renting stores while I was on a real tight budget so had to pass those options. Hunt continued till Changspa where Noma Adventure came to rescue – since the store is on the Shanti Stupa road (less known) and was off season so agreed to lend an old RE for 500/day + fuel (not a bad deal ) – this is the time when real journey started.
A journey to the top of the World – a place I only heard about on forums - a place high enough to increase your chest size. It was my time to experience that feeling.

A pic is worth 1000 words, so here's my attempt to deliver them.

Integrity in Service
100_0364.JPG

My ride for the day
100_0383.JPG

I too throb to the brain and beauty of the earth,
and of all the growths of the earth,
I too have felt the resistless call of myself.

100_0389.JPG

I was advised to not to do Khardungla since I m too new for this altitude, but how can you be sitting in city with dreams of doing Khardungla and let another day just pass on. I was told that its pretty dry and very much doable however I had no idea what their dry means. All i know that I was riding to Khardungla with a basic sports shoes with little or no grip to hold on to cold and provide grip on snow.

Every kilometre beautiful then the previous one, Every turn revealing another face of nature. Journey was pretty smooth till South Pullu check post.

100_0429.JPG

Roads changed to this
100_0439.JPG

The bullet I was riding didn’t have a side stand which means everytime I stop for pictures I have to get down and put the centre stand which also makes petrol to spill from the lock. So was being too cautious and clicking mostly from being on bike itself. Also the lack of oxygen was making it hard to start it after every stoppage. At one occasion i had to give sum 20 odd kicks to start it – leaving me tired and breathless.

I was more concerned in drafting my thoughts on how I will express my experience when I go back, at the same time I was feeling cold since my not so good sports shoes got wet leaving me shivering. How will I tell where I was, what I did, what I felt? I cannot explain my state of mind, except that I’ll remember it all my life.

Next i remember was standing just next to Leh’s India Gate. Without much energy left to take camera out I tried to capture moments via my phone.

100_0459.JPG

IMG-20120505-00101.jpg

There was hardly anyone at the top – reason it’s too cold and tourist has not yet started coming in which worked in my favor as I was paying less price for ride & stay also getting to see the raw and clean side of Leh. Altitude was taking a toll and headache was rising which was mistook as tiredness, coming to ktop with a regular sports shoe was another mistake which spoilt my fun time at the top.

Next aim was to go on to decent altitude to be safe from heavy head which was not really accepted to nature. 1st there was a jam – A truck and an Innova got stuck cos f narrow lanes (regular scenario) which made me waste an hour while for 2nd there was snow that came up on road while this didn’t bother much as I was able to ride over it leaving behind the cars who will now wait for BRO to come for rescue. I too had my share of slips and skids here:

This one made me lose time here
IMG-20120505-00111.jpg

Is was just starting to; so quite an easy escape by bike
IMG-20120505-00114.jpg

Lonely roads, snow covered mountains and a nagging bullet.

Yes I rode on these roads
100_0468.JPG

100_0507.JPG

100_0514.JPG

100_0515.JPG

IMG-20120505-00123.jpg

Once down the masala chai from German Bakery came as remedy while i was still doubtful on to keep same bike for NH1D next day also if I would be able to dry my shoes which remained loyal on one of the toughest terrains. Ride decision was left onto next day while shoes were left to dry on gas heater.
Next was time to utilize free skype from hotel and pass time on facebook. Few shots clicked while on the way back to city.

Stay glued for Day 3. It was Buddha Jayanti and whole town had celebrations going on followed by a small ride to and rode down to the famous Alchi Monastery.

Originally Posted: https://www.bcmtouring.com/forums/threads/a-journey-to-the-skies.50870/page-4

From the Archives:

Missed Part 1? https://steemit.com/themotorlife/@thenomadictales/travel-tales-ladakh-2012

Teasers are not to be missed: https://steemit.com/adventure/@thenomadictales/travel-tales-from-ladakh-teaser

Some Pampering for my bike: https://steemit.com/themotorlife/@thenomadictales/much-needed-pampering-for-bike-70dfe36ad9b29

I also have a steepshot channel for all the "NOT SO RANDOM' things. Click link to reach out http://steemit.com/@notsorandom

Sort:  

Wonderful story Sanchit !! Always wonderful to cherish your own memories by reading the tales of others. It is tough to loose time there at such an altitude.

Absolutely. I never valued writing till one day I went back to my older posts and loved living those moments again.

Very true bro, keep sharing the wonderful stories from the Himalayas :)

interesting photos buddy

Thanks. This means I get upvotes from both accounts now :p

hehe .... I am testing now. I was actually testing curation-trail with your account. I couldn't stop myself from leaving the comment :-) and yea reading the post. I was just supposed to vote & see if my vote, ie @bobinson and then @indiaunited is following it. I wanted to use this account to copy my stuff from Instagram ... ie I used to post often on instagram. Stopped it now. The Icon is from my flickr profile etc. So I think this account once the testing is over, will be converted to my photostream :)

like a steepshot account? I too just stopped visiting my instagram. Possible that things from my steepshot automatically goes to Insta?
My steepshot/ steemit account is: https://steemit.com/@notsorandom

I stopped too. Not using steepshot as the iOS version is not there.

Possible that things from my steepshot automatically goes to Insta?

That's actually a very good idea :) Automagically pulling may work! Need to check

I feel so good to see this fire icon / buddy pic ... its from my flickr here : https://www.flickr.com/photos/freemind

oh boy you click amazing portraits. Sadly i'm off from Flickr so cant follow there. Whats your instagram ID for me to follow?

This post has received gratitude of 0.72 % from @appreciator thanks to: @thenomadictales.

Wonderful Pics as Always !!
I am eagerly waiting for part 3 🤗
Keep Sharing ✌

thank you. Those words really means a lot

a lovely travel post

Good to have you following

What a ride @thenomadictales! Where would you go with a Vespa?

Thank you. I know few riders here who have done thousands of kms on gearless scooters.

Vespas are super reliable and good looking machines so practically we can take them anywhere

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68405.60
ETH 2641.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69