Travel Tales: Ladakh 2012

in #themotorlife7 years ago (edited)

Hello friends

I'm posting day 1 from my first trip to Ladakh in 2012. That also was the first time I tried jotting down my experience on BCMTouring. While I will be posting limited photos here; you can always head to the original article for more.

We learn every day every hour every moment but just don’t realize till we actually give time to our self. This was my time – time to think.
• Failed relationship
• Hostel life
• Call center jobs
• Sitting alone at a place where most don’t even dare to visit.

I feel all these are important – important to grow as a person. At least for me all these contributed to make me what i’m. I was staying at Hotel Kangla – a small lovely ladakhi family led by Salim bhai runs this. At an affordable price of 350/day I had a cosy bed with heater and free wi-fi to use. Thou I was planning not to be connected to the world but thoda extra kise bura lagta hai....

After dinner with new journalist friends it was my time to think and give time to myself while next moment i was calling all my friends telling them how much I m missing their company.

Photos from Day 1:

Heavenly
100_0123.JPG

100_0107.JPG

First Encounter
100_0147.JPG

My stay for next few days - This was Kangla Guest House. A small guest house run by Salim Khan and his family
100_0570.JPG

The guardians of Blue Sky
100_0289.JPG

Day 1 was for acclimatization so took it easy and decided to walk around market area
100_0176.JPG

100_0177.JPG

100_0180.JPG

It was 1st week of May so rarely any tourists
100_0194.JPG

Jama Masjid in Main market
100_0192.JPG

Trek to Leh Palace was definitely worth

100_0258.JPG

100_0220.JPG

100_0265.JPG

100_0281.JPG

Walked down to Shanti Stupa in the evening
100_0306.JPG

100_0337.JPG

This also was the time when I was using a basic Kodak Point & Shoot camera and my office blackberry to click photos. Day 1 ended by calling and missing friends along with excitement of taking over the highest motorable road the next day. Read Original article: https://www.bcmtouring.com/forums/threads/a-journey-to-the-skies.50870/

From the Archives:

Travel series from Ladakh - Teaser: https://steemit.com/adventure/@thenomadictales/travel-tales-from-ladakh-teaser

Some Pampering for my bike: https://steemit.com/themotorlife/@thenomadictales/much-needed-pampering-for-bike-70dfe36ad9b29

I also have a steepshot channel for all the "NOT SO RANDOM' things. Click link to reach out http://steemit.com/@notsorandom

Sort:  

Awesome🙌 photography, cool post buddy😎🤘 i liked the way you narrate, wanna raise one point here that might help you, although iam new and i have very less expereince than you but, I personally feel that your post deserve more and higher upvotes So, when i looked into your post, i saw you using the first tag #themotorlife yeah its trending but, #travel tag has more power over the steemit posts, rest tags you can use later. what happnes is when you posting about your travel experiance and if you used #travel tag at first then your post might have huge chances to hit into trending and it will easily catch the higher whales upvotes. ☺

thank you atish. We are all in learning phase so thanks for pointing that out. Will be releasing the next update tonight and will surely be implementing it.

Nice rememberings coming up.... I stayed 2 times in Ladakh: 1985 as a young man, trekking to Zanskar and making some existancially experiences... and in 2006 as a "grown up" tour with very adventerous results....

I just posted a video about a ladakhian dancing group in Vienna..... see you!

Wow the traditional dance. I intend to go back to Ladakh for a month and live with locals; attend local festivities and understand thr culture and beliefs

such amazing pictures and the place :)

Bhai....u pumping my xcitement....this summmer for sure...i too flying there

This summer we can have IndiaUnited Meetup in Ladakh 😉

That wud b awsome.....👌

Have a bullet ride in ladakh.. Its awosm experiance

This post has received gratitude of 0.54 % from @appreciator thanks to: @thenomadictales.

WoW all of them are great, I mean every pic you clicked have some life.
That pic which was shot from inside the room and a breath taking view of those mountains, really ignited me to visit leh at least once in mylife. Thanks for sharing 🤗

you got to visit Leh really soon. While just sorting photos for this article i've checked the fares twice for different weekends. The itch is at its peak and i just hope i visit there before i end tales for 2012 visit.

You'll visit Leh again, I don't know why but I feel like it'll happen 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67491.07
ETH 3345.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72