The Magic of Controlled Light: Photo Post - Jenny G

I think the thing that makes a great photograph is controlling light properly.  You don't need a huge amount of light and you need to put it in the right places.  As an amateur and a hobbyist I don't have a huge budget and I made the rooky mistake of spending all my money initially on buying the most expensive camera I could.  

That didn't leave a lot of money for lenses and accessories.  One of the best "budget" purchases I made was to buy a cheap beauty dish and a few reflectors.  This shot uses the combination of a single beauty dish and reflector to good effect.  

The beauty dish is casting light on the bright side but (viewer's left) but I added the reflector to the opposite side as on it's own the spotlight effect was too extreme (even more pronounced than it is now).

The model is Jenny Gallagher.

You can see more of my work @thecryptofiend - hope you enjoy.


(Verification for me here: http://www.aapicture.com/about-me)


Sort:  

Nice. I like how part of the couch and wall get lit up -- those patterns add a lot of texture to the image.

Thank you. Yes this setting really helps with the vintage style wallpaper and fixtures.

@thecryptofiend; for someone who think of this work as just a hobby, you do jaw dropping work and you make it look heart racing beautiful to point where you capture the attention of your readers without even trying. I have notice that with the work you do, I cannot just pass it by. Something about what you do and how you do it grabs me every time and I want to say it's the amount of emotion in which you are able to play out through the photograph. I really enjoy you work thecryptofiend! Thank you for continuing sharing your amazing work

Thank you so much for your kind words. I like to try to create the kind of work that I would enjoy looking at I think sometimes it works for others too:)

I would have to say it does because I a proof;)

Thanks you are very kind and your supportive words mean a lot:)

Nice one again. Really like strobist work. Having cheap off cam strobes can make such a huge difference for not that much money.

Thanks. Exactly. I would also emphasise that buying a really expensive camera is probably the worst way to spend your money if you are starting out. I love my Nikon D800 but I got the money after selling some beloved pieces of art that I had collected and some vintage hi-fi gear. I would have been better of holding onto some of those things, buying a used camera and lots of lenses and accessories instead. Still you live and learn.

Yes, better buy good lenses :D Also they will keep their value better. But as a whole it isn't about the cam.
You can create so awesome photos even with cheap gear. Learn and try new things.
I guess you know strobist.com tutorials ?
Here are some links... for strobist photography thats a really great ressource:
http://strobist.blogspot.com/2006/03/lighting-101.html
http://strobist.blogspot.co.at/2006/03/on-assignment.html

I build lots of my lighting equipment myself from cheap stuff or things i had at home anyway.

I do know strobist very well. Not so good with the DIY stuff myself but luckily it easy to buy relatively cheap accessories from China these days as long as you are not after the big name brands.

I guessed so but thought it would perhaps be helpful for others who don't know it yet.
Yes very true with the chinese stuff. You can really start on a budget for the most important things. Things you paid years ago thousands of $ for.

I love the way you play with light and shadow, each post is so inspiring to me and makes me want to paint immediately! keep them coming :)

Thank you. Your appreciation means a lot.

I would even go as far as saying that not only don't you need a huge amount of light - it is actually harmful to the quality of the image.

Thanks for commenting. Yes overexposure can destroy detail and cause major problems because you can't necessarily recover the detail that is lost.

You do have a talent for arranging the geometry of what is lit and what is not.
I am sure the fact the central island of light is off-centre is no coincidence ;)

Thanks yes I try to use the golden ratio spiral a lot. It is not precise I just kind of see it in my head - normally it just looks right to me when I take the shot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54096.18
ETH 2412.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.10