My Polaroid 250 Automatic Land Camera : Scanned Images and Camera Information

Introduction

I have been gradually scanning some of the Polaroid photos I took using my 250 Land camera.  It is a very slow and painstaking process.  Seems to take forever.  Now I remember why I hate scanning! The files end up being huge and you can never get rid of all the dust.  

Printed photos particularly polaroids are very sensitive to damage.  I haven't cleaned these up at all because that takes an age in itself.  For a comparison I've added a copy of "Darkness" a polaroid that I previously posted to demonstrate a cleaned up shot and to also show the difference in contrast between the actual polaroid photo and the inverted negative (which has more detail due to less contrast).  

Some people prefer to keep and use the negatives because of this.  I haven't had much luck as they always seem to get dirty.  Also the quality of the polaroid film stocks are highly variable as they have all been discontinued and are expiring.  They are very sensitive to temperature and storage conditions even when new.

I will try to post more once they are ready.  Apologies if they are not as clean or perfect as my normal shots.  

Scroll to the bottom of the post for Camera Info


The Photos (model is Rachelle Summers)

1


2 - some minor damage here.


3


4


5 - this one and below are quite damaged - not sure what caused the lines and marks


6 - Again it's damaged but I love this shot.  I might have a go at cleaning it in PS - not sure it will work though.


7


8 - Old shot of "Darkness" which was cleaned up in Photoshop to compare with inverted negative.



9 - The Negative of the same "Darkness" shot (inverted like to a positive in PS).  This demonstrates the less contrasty and more vintage look.  It also show the problems with how easily the much wetter negative gets dirty and damaged.  The tone and tint is also quite different.

(All the photos were taken using natural light.)

The Polaroid Automatic 250 Land Camera

Apologies for the low quality of these shots which I took with my Ipod camera.  Also sorry for the filthy desk - didn't have anywhere else suitable to put the camera and take shots of it and my cats have a tendency to walk dirt and dust all over my desk!  They saw this as the perfect opportunity to start playing on it.

I first became familiar with this camera on the recommendation of one of my favourite photographers, Emily Soto.  She showed me how to use it at one of her workshops 3 years ago and I immediately fell in love with it.  Sadly soon after buying it (I think only a week or two) Fuji announced that they were discontinuing the main FP-3000B film (see image below) that I use.

Although there are other film types that may still be available via the Impossible Project that are compatible with this camera they don't have the same characteristics as the 3000B.  Most importantly the 3000B has very high contrast and extremely high light sensitivity.  

Also the Impossible Project film is very expensive.  Prices of old Fuji stock have gone up quite significantly and thats if you can find it or get it to work.  I think out of my final 5 canisters only about 20% of the photos were usable and most of them had defects due to deteriorating film.

It is sad because this is a fantastic camera and a great way for those of us who are only really familiar with digital photography to try using film in a very safe and easy to use manner (no chemistry degree required).

The camera itself is from the 1960s and I purchased it from the Film Photography Project website.  They refurbish all their old cameras and provide a guarantee with them.  It is quite advanced for the time with it's special Zeiss Optics and Viewfinder as well as an advanced (for the time) auto exposure system.  The refubished cameras have been modified to take a regular battery (the original had a custom one that was impossible to find after being discontinued).

Here you can see the folded camera body with the now discontinued high contrast 3000 ISO film - unfortunately this is my last canister so I couldn't show what the inside canister looks like without ruining it.

The 250 when open.  The little pocket holds the original manual and film cooling metal plate.

The front of the camera is on bellows that need to be pulled out.

The focusing system is quite weird an uses a rangefinder type system where you must manually line up 2 images.  I can't show it here but you can probably read more about it online.  It is quite tricky to use.


This shows the simplicity of the camera and also the back plate where the film canister is loaded.

The funky 1960s manual is in surprisingly good condition.

I love 1960s stuff.  Could these images be from any other time?


You can see more of my work @thecryptofiend - hope you enjoy.

(Verification for me here: http://www.aapicture.com/about-me)


Sort:  

Vintage and sweet!
I got a Polaroid also at home, need to start using it again

Thanks. Yes if you can get film for it you shouldn't definitely use it.

Great post @thecryptofiend. I started in photography right in the middle of the changing world of film to digital. I love film, but the time and money kept me from pursuing it professionally. I also wasn't looking to do fine art. I do remember looking in to some Impossible Project resources. The cleaned up Darkness shots are hauntingly beautiful.

Thank you. Yes photography is expensive whether you do it professionally or as a hobby.

Good post and cool photo. First is a best for me

Thanks. I like the first one too.

I'm a big fan of Polaroid photography. The Land 250 is also a real beauty. Thanks for bringing that back to my mind.

Thanks I'm glad you like. Such a shame about that Fuji film though.

Hopefully analog photography will never die. I also have a Fuji Instax Camera and as far as I know the films are still available (and much cheaper than Polaroid films). Do you know The Impossible Project? They are still producing films for many Polaroid cameras.

Yes I do. They never did anything like the 3000B film. Also I had a quick look earlier and couldn't find anything for the Land Camera so they may have stopped compatible film completely.

I've read that the camera takes Fuji FP-100C, FP-100B, FP-3000B, Polaroid 665, 667, 669 and 690. At least the FP-100C can be bought here. Also a quick search on ebay brought up several expired 3000B films like this.

The Instax-wide, which I'm using is unfortunately only available in color. But it has iso 800 (daylight balanced). You are right with the expired film, but as I began to accept the glitches of expired film, I really had some fun with it ;-)

@shortcut Thanks for the link. The problem with the 3000B film is the failure rate for the expired stock. The FP100C is colour and just doesn't give the same results. It is also only really suitable for outdoor shooting in strong sunlight due to the low sensitivity. What are the Instax like?

@shortcut OK I might try one just for experimentation. Yes I agree that expired film can give artistic results. The problem with the layered type of film like the 3000B is that often the whole of the film basically disintegrates too much. It is too hit or miss - particularly for paying $40 for a 10 shot canister where you only get about 2 shots that are useable. You need to be rich for that kind of experimentation. Here is an example:

Forgot to mention I've made a polaroid and general film photography channel on the chat.

for me photo number 8 is the best!
film cameras are not dead :) I can't wait to get my hands on Zenit camera.
Btw @thecryptofiend are you good with diy? I have old kodak instamatic 100 but costs loads to be fixed..maybe some tips how I could sort it myself?
thanks!

Photo 8 is the only one that has been edited in photoshop so it makes sense. It took me most of a weekend to get rid of each and very piece of dust, scratch etc.

I'm afraid I have no clue how to fix these old cameras but given how many of them that are out there and how so few people want them you could probably buy a working or refurbished one really cheap - less than the cost of repair. You could try to see if anyone has any Youtube videos on doing it yourself as an alternative.

wow, great photos @thecryptofiend they are so...I don`t know the word...cool, those scratces... I like lack/white photos so mutch. That is my grandfathers

Thanks Wow that looks like a full frame camera. Do you know what kind it is?

wonderful images. that is a German "Pronto" folding camera form the 50's if i am not mistaken.

Thanks OK. Not heard of that before.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

About linkback_bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57014.79
ETH 2478.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29