The Counterintuitive Necessity of Disconnecting

in #photography7 years ago

How often do you intentionally disconnect from your daily digital reality? Ever since traveling became a viable option for me (financially speaking), I've developed an intentional habit of taking at least one week every year to untether entirely. I'm not talking about a trip to Cancun where you technically have an "out of office" autoresponder enabled but find a new appreciation for daily Instagram dives while laying by the pool. I'm talking about COMPLETE DISCONNECTION where you don't even have the option of a few harmless texts.

Finding this type of solitude (freedom?) has become a liberating necessity in my life. I don't even give myself the option of skipping it. Every year I simply know that there will be at least one week set aside to get outside, play in the mud, scramble through boulder fields, smell flowers, breathe deeper, and ignore the incessant tug of my iPhone.

Many of my #PALnet and #Steemit peeps have noticed my absence, and while part of me wants to apologize for being checked out, I know that for me personally, this time away is the only thing that keeps me going once I get jacked back into the Matrix. There will be no apology for personal preservation and taking the time I know to be so valuable.


All photos are original (with the occasional addition of a hipstergram filter)...enjoy a moment of vicarious disconection. Do you have a similar practice? Please share your personal strategies and/or favorite destinations in the comments.


Lake Louise - BC, Canada

IMG_0358.jpg
Plain of Six Glaciers - BC, Canada

IMG_0359.jpg
Floe Lake - Banff National Park

IMG_0357.jpg
Banff - BC, Canada

IMG_0318.jpg
Kootenay National Park - BC, Canada

IMG_0276.jpg
Lake Kintla - Glacier National Park, MT

IMG_0292.jpg
Lake Kintla - Glacier National Park, MT

IMG_0337.jpg
The Beehive - BC, Canada

Much ❤
@Tayken

Connect on: Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Snapchat

Random acts of kindness appreciated to help support the Denver Steemit Meetup (this Friday) -- 1EB9MEfCC3fYo6dmW7zuWFJDVC53GVNA8J (BTC)

♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟

Sort:  

Really stunning photos! I would love to disconnect in those settings :) For me my time to disconnect is when I'm spending time with family or friends. I try to completely disconnect at these times, and not be that annoying person who keeps checking their phone or is always on their phone. But I'll be honest, now that a majority of my work is online, it is getting harder and harder to justify not checking my phone (because now it's work related), and it's hard not to be tugged back into the matrix. But I think that it's so important when you're with other people that you care about to try to remain present by putting away your phone (the entire time!) and just enjoying the time that you share with them.

Honest reply @natashahall

I think you outline the very reason I DO disconnect. Work is online for all of us. Even physical laborers check email. It's too easy to lose track of what matters, so an intentional separation is the only way to consistently see the truth.

OH YES PLEASE!!

Stunning post, and I can completely relate to this!

We need to switch off in order to switch on!!

That's the strategic and counterintuitive aspect.

Sometimes gotta go up to get down. Check out to check in. Go blind to truly see...

True that!!

I totally agree on disconnecting - I take months out sometimes =) Love your photos so am following... should you be on or off steemit. Stay wild!

Stay wild!

I love this response and love that this post resonates. Where do you go?

Beautiful photos, I love the look of mountains rising in the background of lakes. Unplugging is a necessity, I feel torn as I'm trying to develop an online business which requires me spending more time online than I would like to.
Travel is life

For me, it has to be a requirement. Perhaps you just consider your year to be 350 days long. I guarantee you can still get the work done. Travel is life, if approached with purpose ;)

Awesome gallery! :)

Appreciate that @ghoost!

oh, how sweet such disconnection sounds.

as nice as it is on the west coast, I still miss Banff sometimes - so gorgeous...

Thanks for your consistent perusal @rok-sivante! Where are you out west...SF?

This part of the world is now on my short-list of places I could live! Gorgeous indeed!

Very useful...

Piccata? Titicaca! I am Cornholio! I need piccata for my bunghole!

Simply profound!

Do you have T.P. for my bunghole? I would hate for my bungholio to get polio.

i love your pics

Thanks...the landscape did most of the work on this trip :)

Amazing photos

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

We need to change gear, break away from the usual and just get back to nature.

Awesome photo's! yes turn the phone off!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63605.39
ETH 3470.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52