Minds are like flowers; they open only when the time is right

in #photography5 years ago

A few more flowers

This post will cover two challenges Beautiful Sunday By @ace108, and Sublime Sunday, created by @c0ff33a,
For this weeks post for these challenges, I am back to flowers but first a saying, something I said in a couple of comments recently that I would try at least once a week to do a little more than just post photos and talk about them, but actually do some more perhaps meaningful perhaps the wanderings of my mind and trust me it does wonder all over

“Minds are like flowers; they open only when the time is right.” – Stephen Richards

Quite an interesting saying I think, I see it as kind of similar to the saying you can lead a horse to water but you cannot make it drink, and why is that you may think?

To me this saying is telling us that as much as we may think we may know sometimes what is best for someone, it will only happen when it is right for that person, trying to push your opinions on someone will not achieve anything other than perhaps frustration for the one doing the pushing, Instead if you really want to help the person to come to a realization just be there, listen to them and be understanding and when they are ready ( which may or may not ever happen) then their minds will open and they will be ready to change.

Listening is an art form, many consider they are a good conversationalist because they can weave words together, but to me, a conversation is a two-way street Being able to speak well is one thing that many can do but being a good listener taking in what they are saying without letting your opinions shaping what you hear is something many struggle with but something very beneficial to learn.
Well as I said my mind does wander off sometimes I dont know where it may lead me, and this just happened with writing the last paragraph, but it leads me to finish off this section with another saying I heard a while ago and have always remembered

"One of the most sincere forms of respect is actually listening to what another has to say." --Bryant H. McGill

Now onto the photos of a few flowers, I have come across in gardens recently
I loved the color of this Rose, and the water drops really made it stand out

1 a few flowers.jpg

Sony A7iii 90mm F8 1/400 Sec ISO 800
Click here to view larger


A similar rose on another day without the drops still beautiful but to me, it just doesn't stand out as much without the water drops

1 a few flowers2.jpg

Sony A7iii 90mm F6.3 1/250 Sec ISO 1000
Click here to view larger



Another rose, with similar warm colors

1 a few flowers3.jpg

Sony A7iii 201mm F6.3 1/250 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Now I am not sure if this one is a rose or not, it was in a garden which is called a rose garden, but to me it doesn't look like most roses, so maybe it is or isn't, perhaps someone reading this will know what it is

1 a few flowers4.jpg

Sony A7iii 191mm F6.3 1/640 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And a last rose, not as vibrant as the first few but still beautiful

1 a few flowers5.jpg

Sony A7iii 150mm F6.3 1/640 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 40.752412 lat -73.976960 long Midtown East NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Great works! Love to see the flowers after the rain, with water drops.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks me to, but sometime sI cheat I carry a little water spray bottle with me in my camera bag LOL

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=minds-are-like-flowers-they-open-only-when-the-time-is-right


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Great quote by Bryant H McGill..
Being a good listener is something that I find most people have difficulty with.
Being a teacher of the handicapped for 30 years taught me a lot about listening.
The children that I worked with, for the most part came from broken families. Not having a very stable environment at home caused many emotional problems and spilled over to school.
The stories of their hardships would just pour out if they felt you were really listening to them. For many of the wonderful students I taught, having someone there to just listen was a way to gain their respect.
Personally I would rather listen than talk.
There was a quote that I hung on the outside of my classroom door every year that kind of says it all.
"Kids don't care how much you know, until they know how much you care." Being a good listener is a great way to show you care.
This quote was hung on the outside of my door, not for the students, but rather for my colleagues.
Wonderful post and @farm-mom just loves roses, as I do.

I love that quote you shared as well it is so true, I think working in a multinational environment and in war torn countries helped me to learn the true value of listening

thanks for sharing your experience and I am the same way I much prefer listening than talking

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

amazing shots, first rose pic (with water drops) is the best in all of them.

Thaks the first one is one of my favorite flower shots ;)

I coached a high school debate team for years. Every year I ask new debaters what skill is most important for debate. They generally respond with the ability to speak intelligently or confidence. They are surprised when I tell them it is listening. I then explain that in ordered to effectively debate you need to know what the other person said, so you can respond and explain why their position is the better choice.

Like the flowers opening they get it when the time is right, for most of them it often after a few debates.

Posted using Partiko Android

I was ina debate team for a couple of years in school, looking back now I was probably better at it because i was a good listener, which I had not thought about til your comment just now, I have always been a better listener or more of a listener than a talker

I love that quote JJ, and the pictures as well.
"Minds are like Flowers, they only open when the time is right"
Quite profound @tattoodjay. Thanks.

Love is much like a wild rose, beautiful and calm,
but willing to draw blood in its defense.
~Mark Overby

I love the blue of that rose and thats another great quote

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for the resteem appreciated

OMG 😮 now roses are my favorite flowers, your photos are soo beautiful. 🥰

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33