Like making a self-portrait in a low key.

in #photography6 years ago

Do you want to make a good self-portrait and not a simple selfie?

DSC01298.jpg

How about steemians, happy Tuesday for everyone, I apologize for not being able to publish yesterday, When I was writing, the light went out for me, if you're from Venezuela you know how things are here, Anyway, let's get on with it, so today I want to share with you some self-portrait photos I took a few days ago and as I always tell you a little bit about how I did it, so let's get started.

With what resources do you achieve this result?

Surely you're thinking that to achieve these photos I used some sophisticated equipment, of those who, when you watch a tutorial, feel like crying over their prices, but the truth is, without counting my camera, I only use everyday items and they're so common, which I think most people might have at home, or at least I could get them from a neighbor.

Take note, just use these items:
  • A table.
  • A mechanical or emergency lamp.
  • A room with the lights off.
  • Something to serve as a base to hold the lamp in the direction you want to illuminate, In my case, I used a chair.
  • Your desire to photograph.

As you can see, these are things that anyone can get at home, You'd think I'd use a black background, too, but the truth is that the room in the dark is enough, The wall is white but you can still see the results, the important thing here is to be creative with the resources we have, I always say it so there's no excuse for those who have a camera and don't dare to experiment, By the way, my camera's no big deal either, is a semi-professional sony dsc-hx1.

If you already have everything you need, let's get down to business.

DSC01205.jpg

If you are going to do a low code self-portrait I recommend you not to open the diaphragm too much, so you get a better focus, the most important thing is to focus the eyes as they are our focus of attention.

Locate and organize your space.

Once you are in the space where you are going to take your photos, the next thing you know, you're looking at the photos you're hoping to get, in any branch of photography this is necessary but in this one it is even more so, because when making a self-portrait we cannot visualize the composition of our photo, although if you're lucky enough to have a camera with integrated wifi function this is no problem, since all you have to do is download the application from your camera onto your phone and you're done, we'll have remote control of it and we'll be able to see what's in front of our lens.

Another very useful tool is the remote trigger, with this we avoid the inconvenience of setting the timer of our camera all the time, so we can take several pictures without touching our camera, and then go through them and detail that everything's okay, In my case I don't have a remote trigger, much less a wifi function in my camera, As I said before, my camera is very basic, so I'm just gonna focus on the things I use.

DSC01216.jpg

By the way, I recommend that you don't take any pictures when you're out late, unless you want to look like a raccoon like me.

Once you know where to take the pictures, place the table in front of the place, we'll use it as a base for our camera, if you have a much better tripod, the next thing is to place our light in the position you wish to illuminate, In my case, I tied the mechanic's lamp to a chair and moved it around as I adjusted the light to my convenience, although in some cases I held the lamp directly with my hand as the chair limited me, It was really awkward, but it was worth the effort.

The lighting scheme I leave to your imagination, I used several, the ones I found most comfortable were the sides and the counterpoint, since I only had one lamp and in some pictures I held it in my hand, This is why the photos have very marked dark areas.

If you're going to do very close self-portraits like in my case, I recommend you use some object of approximate size to your face and place it in the position where you are going to be, to set the parameters of your camera and the lighting of the lamp based on this.

Once we have everything ready, we only have to program the timer of our camera and place ourselves in the place where we previously placed the ball to configure the camera, here you have to have a lot of patience as we will be constantly moving from our site to make sure the pictures are coming out right, that's why it's important that we mentally visualize what we want to achieve, so our work will flow faster.

DSC01317.jpg

This picture I liked, however it was cropped because it was not in the right position, so you have to be patient and repeat as many times as necessary the photo.

I would like to make it clear that portraits are not limited to using only low or high key techniques, I chose this technique because I took the pictures in my room and since I didn't see anything flashy in it, that I can add some color to my photos, I preferred to eliminate everything with the low key technique, some time ago I wrote a detailed post about it, but this post also serves as a short review, with the above you can already start experimenting with what's around you, don't let the opportunities pass you by.

Luck is on the side of those who try their best, I invite you to dare and experience new things as I do, you'll be amazed at how much you can do, people hide a potential they don't normally exploit.

TuneaTaringa.blogpot.com (18).png

If you like the world of photography and videos, you want to learn or just be inspired for a while, you can see more of my work at instagram or follow me on my blog, where I share my experiences and advice, for those who love photography.

Instagram: @samuel_film
Steemit: @samuel-film

BANNER.png

I will be uploading more content soon, remember that monday is dedicated to #photography Tuesdays are from #videos and on Fridays of #personalgrowth,See you soon, thanks for reading the post, if you liked it, please give it upvote, comment on how you liked it and share it with your friends!

Upvote-Logo.png

The images or videos I use in my blog are made by me and I own all the rights to them, of which I usually use my personal logo to identify them, to make use of any image or video outside my control, I always limit the source of it.
This post is the translation of my last post in Spanish.

Link to my previous posts, in English

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-27T20:41:36
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 420.30/800.00
Total Photos: 56
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hello @samuel-film, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48