Mineral Mondays: Pink Halite aka Pink Himalaya Salt

in #photography7 years ago

It's Monday and time to introduce you to another mineral. Today I'd like to talk to you about the mineral that started mine & my wife's collecting journey, pink halite, also known as pink himalaya salt. 

As you can see though this isn't your normal salt crystal. 

What is Pink Halite?

Pink halite is rock salt that has been given it's color by halophilic bacteria. When the bacteria die they produce a red color and are absorbed by the crystals during crystal growth. The dead bacteria can produce white to dark red, cranberry colored crystals as well as blue & green crystals.

Where is Pink Halite found?

Collectors come from all over the world once a year to get the chance to collect this mineral in Trona, California at the Searles Lake Gem & Mineral Society's show, Gem O Rama. Fabulous specimens like shown above sell for hundreds of dollars to collectors all over the world. To my knowledge, Searles Lake is the only place in the world where the pink halite grows into massive crystals like this.

The salt crystals grow in shallow brine pools on the lake bed through the process of evaporation. The lake is a sink in the middle of the desert, surrounded on all sides by mountains. These mountains drain into the lake and the minerals accumulate there as there is no way for them to drain out. 

Is it easy to collect?

Actually, pink halite is very hard. When digging for it we use 5' long breaker bars of 1" thick steel, as well as pick axes, pry bars, shovels, sledge hammers, cold chisels and anything steel. Even with those tools specimens like above can take an hour to dig out. It's hard work in the hot, desert sun, but the reward is well worth it. 

And now let's let the pictures do the talking.

ALL PHOTOS & VIDEOS ARE TAKEN BY ME OR MY WIFE WITH OUR IPHONE 6, 6SPLUS or 7.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. I have had a very close fondness to Himalayan Pink Salt ever since I discovered it. Now, I had no idea it looked so beautiful as you have shown in your photographs. What a joy it would be to get to go to a Gem O Rama show one day.

Searles Lake and Owned Lake are the only places I know of that produce massive crystal clusters like this.

If you are in the states it is a fantastic adventure to go dig it up, but it's messy so keep that in mind. If you do go you will see me there! I go every year.

Thanks for reading, commenting and upvoting!

I'll look up those places and the event and try to fit it into my schedule. Maybe we'll bump into each other!

Awesomeness! I collect crystals and minerals. Did a bunch of blogs on them need to start back soon. I love this! I don't have any pink halite. Now i want some. Resteemed. I'm glad there's another rock hound on here. =)

Wow, that's awesome that you're a rock hound too Chelsea! I'll hit you up on slack, but FYI I still have a little bit.

Definitely post about some of your crystals. I'll be doing these every Monday as I have a LOT of gems and minerals to write about.

Sorry Chelsea, didn't see them across my feed. Checking them out now.

Its ok they're all weeks old at this point. Right after hf19 wasn't sure how interested folks were in reading about it

I read Mark Kurlansky's excellent book Salt: A World History but he didn't mention much about Himalayan Pink Salt. Looking forward to the next Mineral Monday post.

Thanks Plush. It is a pretty incredible mineral.

Working on Monday's post now.

Very good ! Keep it in the future! @rt395

Great shots my friend :)
I also have some Himalaya Salt, but the crystals are a lot smaller than the ones in your picture :D

Awesome Dan. A lot of people have them which kinda surprised me. I knew people at it, just didn't know people collected it until I did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57864.53
ETH 2454.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34