Steemit Photo Challenge: My Humble Submission to This Great Challenge, Architecture From Around The World

in #photography8 years ago

Greetings!


I am LOVING these Steemit challenges!


They are so good for the Steemit community as they bring the community together, establishing new relationships and inspiring people to new levels of content.


I also love photography and have taken tens of thousands of photos from around the world!


I am more of a nature photography, fan but I have some cool photos of Architecture that may not be winning quality, but I feel after you see them that you will be grateful that you did.


I am participating not really trying to win, but just to support the Steemit Community and be a part of the fun. Hopefully I will make some new friends and share something enjoyable. 


To me, the story or implications of the photo are as important as the photo itself, and that is what I love most about sharing life with people through photography.


Lastly, I want to give a special thanks to @berniesanders for sponsoring this event but also for all the people's posts he has given significance to with his support. Some of my most exciting moments on Steemit have been an UPvote from Bernie!


So without further ado, here are my 3 submissions!


I will start with far and away the most impressive piece of architecture I have ever photographed. I do have some "better" photos of this, but I am 30 minutes away from the deadline and don't expect to win. As I said the story or implications of the photo is what I really want to share and that shall be done here!

This is a photo of the oldest piece of architecture ever discovered in Ireland of which is OLDER than the great pyramids of Giza. It is built out of 100% stone, no mortar and every stone is "perfect" enough to not only fit together but to STAY together for TENS of thousands of years!

But wait, it gets BETTER! Every single year on the winter solstice there is a special little tiny window that lets in light. It is the ONLY day of the year where this light comes in and it appears that the whole inside chambers are dark every other day. So the implications are profound as what this means is this building was specifically built for this purpose and that whoever built it had full awareness of the astrological cycles to build it so perfectly!



                                          



My second submission as architecture is actually less amazing (almost everything is in comparison to the first), yet it is the most awesome building that I have ever built. Also the artistic and photographic elements are more stunning!

 It is an Earthship, and as far as modern buildings go, they are some of the longest lasting, most functional and sustainable buildings on earth. The fact that I built it (not alone) is more awesome than the photo! hahaha


         



Lastly, for my third submission I have an uncommon example of architecture. Yet as with beauty what is architecture is relative. In third world countries where people live on less than a dollar a day, sometimes the only factors are what can be built easily and without money. So here is an example of a VERY basic, primitive and dirty piece of architecture, yet it serves its practical purpose and in truth I respect it far more than most architecture because it is SUSTAINABLE!

This is a VERY common home in India of which millions live in and of which believe it or not is nicer than many other peoples living quarters in third world countries...


                            


I really hope you got something out of this post. I tried to share something that I felt had real value and substance to life as a whole.

I am grateful to be a part of this community and to be participating in this challenge!


Thanks again to @berniesanders and of course @pfunk for being a judge and everyone else who is participating in this!


In closing I want to submit one last photo of which is not for the challenge, simply for more REAL value =)>

The title of this photo is "They Just Don't Make Em Like They Used To (or like I make buildings like earthships!). This is a building that cost a lot of resources to make of which were not particularly sustainable and just falls apart in the matter of decades, as opposed to the architecture of old of which lasts thousands of years!

This photo I actually really love for its beauty, light, color, texture...But as far as architecture is concerned as with almost all western modern homes, is TOTAL CRAP!


        




Sort:  

These are really beautiful! I'm especially drawn to the colors, lines, and textures of your "bonus" photo, but the Irish structure is amazing. It would be great fun to explore in there, especially on the solstice!

They have a drawing every year to choose the few people who get to enter that structure on the solstice. We entered, but didn't win. So grateful to have seen it regardless of the light. This is a great entry, Quinn. It was an exceptional building.

Yes it costs like $10,000 to go there on the winter solstice!

Nice photos man!
My favorite, for possibly obvious reasons, was your third entry.
Most likely, the other ones may be more likely to win.
I'm glad you guys are getting involved, you've brought a small army to steemit!

Hahahahahahaha
Yes a small army with much more power than a big group of solders.
Grateful you like the photos and especially pleased you like the third one as it is far and away the most humble and sustainable!
Love you Pappa Pepper! Your my best supporter and I know you play that roll for others.
I am sure there are many who are grateful for you!
Wish you the best!

Wow, even though it's dilapidated I love the last pic, there is an "ugly beauty" about it.

Also a quick point about ancient architecture; it is easy to fall into the trap by thinking all old architecture was incredible, because we see it today.

However, the only old architecture we see, is the stuff still standing; the stuff that fell down because it was crap, we didn't get to see! :-D

Cg

Hahaha yes indeed!
A good point that is not lost on me.
Yes I quite like the last one a lot as a photographic piece. That's why I included it as my example of "crap" because the building it self was crap but the photo was beautiful.
Really appreciate the comments Cg~
Best Regards~*~

All of your photos are worthy of t his challenge. Number two is my favorite as there is nothing quite like building something such as this with one's own hands. The daybreak magnificent in all its colors. Awesome choices out of the repertoire of thousands.

Yes the lighting is magnificent and that it is hand made with my touch in a sustainable way makes it very special~
Much love Ever Love~*~

this is pretty cool!

Thanks!
I really had fun with it and I really appreciate your support!

the last one is like ...waaa?! good stuff

Glad u like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48