[New Zealand Birds]~ Australian Swamp Hen (Pukeko)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

"Bird Up Tuesday"

fullsizeoutput_1461.jpeg
Everyday I walk past an open field full of these birds grazing.

The pukeko is a widespread and easily recognisable bird that has benefitted greatly by the clearing of land for agriculture. In addition to its brilliant red frontal shield and deep violet breast plumage, the pukeko is interesting for having a complex social life. In many areas, pukeko live in permanent social groups and defend a shared territory that is used for both feeding and breeding. Social groups can have multiple breeding males and females, but all eggs are laid in a single nest and the group offspring are raised by all group members.

http://nzbirdsonline.org.nz/species/pukeko

fullsizeoutput_1467.jpeg

B&W Pic of the day
#Monomad

VMN1q9qiTxuRYxIC+QXN9g.jpg

Image URL

Been a little busy the past week or so, but getting back with it. Im trying to find ways to self improve myself and am thinking of starting a new segment on the blog about my progress. Its mainly simple things like how to remember names after meeting people. Im horrible at that 🤷🏾‍♂️. Also to ultimately show some self control over my wants and cravings. I seem to overindulge, wether its eating, drinking, or smoking. I think this is my next faze to reach a higher mental state.

Thanks for Reading!

All of the pictures I post are my original and creative works. I do not post others photos without a proper reference. My photos are shot with a Canon 5d Mark III 24-105mm lens. I also shoot with my iPhone 8plus. I like to try to show my creative side on this platform so please enjoy the pics and leave a comment.

🤙🏾
Check out my previous post Here
&
Other B&W Pics Here

Thanks for stopping by
@Popolo9thIsland

&

Instagram@ Questpic

Sort:  

what😍 a great🐉🐦 picture📷

good looks bruddah 🤙🏾
I dig the sushi posts, it makes me crave it again lol

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Oh lovely bird photo. I love birds. I try to take sometimes. Thanks for sharing with us. @minnowhale

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80