WHAT COULD MAKE PAPA-PEPPER TAKE OFF HIS BOOTS & JUMP IN THE POND IN FEBRUARY?

in #adventure8 years ago

The lure of creation is amazing to me sometimes… even irresistible.



I know that it’s only mid-February, but the frogs were already croaking down at the pond tonight. I figured that I had better grab the camera and a flashlight and go investigate. By the end of my adventure, I even wound up in the pond, but thankfully, it wasn’t for nothing!

I caught the creature that lured me in.

Right away I began to see the frogs. I only saw Bullfrogs tonight, though I certainly heard other varieties. Just shining the flashlight at them was enough to make them dive under and hide. But... Bullfrogs were not the creature...


For the less afraid one, I was able to practice my frog-catching skills.


I even got to see a new generation of Bluegills.

A lot of these little ones were in the shallows near the shore.

Of course, I was able to grab one of these too! But... Bluegills were not the creature...

One of the Bluegills predators at this size was also there, the Water Scorpion. This is not the best photo, so if you want to see more about the Water Scorpion, follow THIS LINK to the recent @little-peppers post about them to learn more and see some better photos. But... Water Scorpions were not the creature...


I saw something else, which enticed me to take off my boots and head into the pond after it.

Here is the video of that encounter.

For those who don’t want to check out the video, it was a newt!

This pond was just full of them last spring, and it was possible to catch dozens at one time with some effort. Though I never expected to see newts swimming around in February, that’s just what happened tonight!

I’ll be posting more on these wonderful creatures as I encounter more later on in the year, but for now I just wanted to share this exciting news, I caught a newt in February!

As always, I’m @papa-pepper and here’s the proof:


proof-of-newt


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)


The long-term purpose of this account is to help provide the necessary funds to live a self-sufficient lifestyle at home with my family.

Sort:  

I laughed at how fast you snatched that frog up on one swift swooping motion. Quick like a hawk with those hands bro, you are definitely equipped for wildlife. Very cool post, upvoted

@verbal-d It must be the peppers! They give him that extra surge :)

I agree! A fiery fuel indeed he must have

Excellent post @papa-pepper. You are like the new outdoor life channel!

It's too late for this. You got me squirming and wincing.
!Creepy.gif

This is awesome even though i fear reptiles

I didn't expect​ to see this today! Your skills to catch frogs are very good! Nice post @papa-pepper!

That is so early for everything that you showed! Too early. Those little newts are so vulnerable looking. It's amazing that they are as successful as they are. Such tiny little toes and they never look like they really functional all that well on the land. Glad you had such a good time in that pond! :D

Did you lick the frog?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77