SOUTH PADRE ISLAND CRAB MACRO-PHOTOGRAPHY – Volume 4

in #photography7 years ago

Fiddler on the beach, not on the roof!


Technically, these Fiddler Crabs happened to be on the mainland, so they are not exactly "South Padre Island Crabs." However, my recent crab photos are being run in that series, and since they were just across the bay, I figured I'd still run them here.

It was not even until after I was looking at the photos that I noticed that these crabs do not have the same big claw. One is "right handed" so to say, while the other is "left handed." I'll include a proof of each. Here is a left handed one hanging out with some friends.


Anyway, after mostly only seeing these guys at pet shops, it was nice to see some out in the wild, having fun in their natural environment. Like many other crabs I met, they were extremely fast, but they paused long enough for me to get a few good shots.

I think I've got a few more very interesting varieties of crabs that we found which I took some good photos of, so I'll keep you posted.



As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-right-handed-fiddler



proof-of-left-handed-fiddler

PREVIOUS POSTS

To check out my first South Padre Island Crab photo shoot CLICK HERE.


To check out my second South Padre Island Crab photo shoot CLICK HERE.


To check out my third South Padre Island Crab photo shoot CLICK HERE.



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Unlike the previous crab pictures, these have lesser scope for googly eyes :(

Really great pictures @papa-pepper --I remember catching little sand crabs on the beaches of Northern California as a kid. So much fun. I need to get back to the ocean soon.

You got crabs in Texas? Sounds like a great trip so far!

Very nice pictures! Looks like a nice place to visit, maybe I will one day!

This crap will be tasty :D

u r a brave man capture photos of fiddler and in ur hand @papa-pepper

Nice papa-pepper. Thanks for sharing.

In my head they are like Batman but without the cloak and are ready to disappear in the shadows ahaha

They have big claws, I would be afraid to hold them in my hand :)

LOL Dude you would run fast also if everyone was out to catch you and drop you in a pot of hot water to eat you! Bunch of cannibalism going on to them ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49