The Zeitgeist Movement and Berlin Street Art

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Berlin.jpg

Three years ago, my brother and I attended Zeitgeist's 7th annual "ZDay" awareness campaign in Berlin, Germany. If you are not familiar with the Zeitgeist movement, you may be interested to know that it is the largest grassroot social movement in the world - an activist group working to bring the world together for the common goal of species sustainability before it is too late.

krishnamurti.jpg

Having both followed the movement for quite a few years, we were excited to meet, listen, question, and learn more on the topics which had become the source of many debates. With guest speakers coming from around the world, and addressing a variety of topics ranging from plant based diets, to open source ecology and structural violence (to name a few), Zeitgeist's objective is to discuss the state of our societies and how to improve it.

The Zeitgeist Movement (TZM) works to create awareness and finding the root causes of problems (and hence logic for resolution).

It also works to express the incredible potential we have to greatly improve the human condition in general, initiated by embracing the very nature of scientific reasoning.
In short, a scientific approach towards sustainability and efficiency.

Good news. They're baaaaack!!! In Frankfurt this time.

If you live somewhere in Europe and relate to what has been said here, this is definitely an event worth attending. The only downside I find is that it only lasts 5 hours (although, last time, people couldn't stop asking questions so that time frame was easily doubled!)

27545208_1571725562910093_821612519357172072_n.jpg

For more info on this event coming up in exactly 1 month, click here. I still have to buy my tickets and organize this trip but once I do, I'm hoping to see maybe 1 or 2 of you Steemians out there :)
And if you are new to this, I highly recommend watching at least one of Zeitgeist's films made by Peter Joseph - they contain a wealth of information, are very witty and bound to leave you with as many questions as nods of approval. I am a fervent supporter of the "Question everything" frame of mind so these were quite eye opening.

To top it off, I feel that going to such events is also a great way to discover a new city, country, or even a part of the World never before seen - I think my fellow SteemFest attendees will agree here. Lisbon was as much awesome for Steemfest as it was for the fact that we got to discover such an interesting city. The more reasons to go!

Here are a few photos of Berlin and its vibrant street art we had the chance to experience the day after attending the event:

EastSide Gallery.jpg


"Laurette t'es moche, mais je t'aime commeme"

"Weeeeeeee"

EastSide Gallery (2).jpg

Some of the graffiti I have chosen to show you here (emphasis on the word "chosen" - such a tough exercise to decide which photos you'll enjoy most) are from the East Side Gallery.
It is the longest open air gallery in the world with 1316m of wall known to everyone for having been the border separating East and West Berlin from 1961 to 1989.
It has now become the symbol of reunification and resolution.

EastSide Gallery1.jpg


Berlin Wall leftovers

Small passage to the "other side"


The wall is now used as a giant canvas where artists are free to express themselves. Themes such as the euphoria of peace, freedom after persecution, lack of freedom, stories and dreams, and the hope for a better, more humane society are all expressed and interpreted here, on these last remaining bits and pieces of concrete wall.

Sometimes, I found the correlation between the questions raised during the event and the issues expressed within these walls to be strongly and almost strangely similar.


A little girl crying

Cosmonaut mural - largest stencil drawing in the world

Looking forward to attending this year's "ZDay" in Frankfurt and coming back with loads of new photos and ideas to share. Let's hope this city is not as freezing cold as Berlin was!

Map Location: !steemitworldmap 52.5065133 lat 13.1445545 long BERLIN D3SCR

divider.png

All photos in this post were taken by me (except for the memes and the last photo... hehe)

To view some of my previous posts, click on the links below:


Architectural Photography - Hong Kong

Watercolor illustrations by my great-grandfather

The Hundred-year-old Egg

Faces of Borneo - Portrait photography



“Learning is not a race for information, it is a walk of discovery” - Jane Healy

osm0sis sndbox.gif

Sort:  

Nice blog

Generic comments could be mistaken for spam.

Tips to avoid being flagged

Thank You! ⚜

Awesome blog!

Ten out of ten for photos/text/layout and content. Why this isn't in trending I do not know!

That hat does look better on me though :P

HA! I'm glad not to be in trending... i think we both know why ;)
And yes the hat looks way better on you

Woa! Never heard of the zeitgeist movement before this, but I certainly can get down with a bunch of folks who want to save the world.. call it my god complex, or maybe fear that we're all incredibly doomed- maybe it's in the cards for me to visit berlin one day and participate <3

Frankfurt this year. Meet you there? C'mooooon!

I'll certainly put it in the Universe's suggestion box! ;)

Haha the universe would approve. This world needs superheroes!
In the meantime, you can always watch the movies :)

The Zeitgeist movement has fascinated me since I watched the first film many years ago. Oh how I wish I could transport myself and my family to join you at this amazing event! I hope you'll tell us all about it. I agree that it's vital for us to come together and shift the things that are not working in our world. I hope that in some ways, we're doing that on Steemit as well.

As for the photography... wow! A soul-sister of mine lives in Berlin. When I finally get over to visit her, I'll ask her to take me here so I can see this art in person.

Thank you for your thoughtful comment @katrina-ariel.
I believe steemit is a start to the changes which need to happen in this world. Only time will tell I guess.

Wish you could attend as well... you would love the event. How brilliant it would be to meet you and your fam there!
I think you should get that future campervan of yours to Europe at some point. I toured the continent when I was a kid with my parents and brother and have the best memories of our travels. Lots of fun for children and just plain amazing for adults (plus Europe is small and easily toured)

I adore that Krishnamurti quote...
So, I didn't know about this festival! I hear the word Zeitgeist come up a lot but not for this event which sounds amazing. I hope you have a great time and that it's well attended since the subjects are of the essence.

And oh the street art!!! Whew, just love seeing it through your photos. keep us in your pocket as you travel!

Thank you dear Ruth. I'm hoping the event is even better than last time.
Also, they'll surely say a word or 2 about the blockchain technology which should be interesting. If not, I'll try and ask a few questions ;)

Quality content! Thanks for sharing. This world needs less division, more unity. The forces tearing us apart for their own profit are beginning to feel the heat.

Change takes time, but transparency through technology is helping the movement.

Please keep sharing your ideas!

Thanks @toddoto, and I fully agree.
Slowly but surely, one person at a time... the blockchain is helping to accelerate one aspect of a better future, that's for sure. There's still a lot of work to do with regards to creating a sustainable, more humane world, but we'll get there... as we lead by example.

What a brilliant post, Berlin has some of best street art in Europe for sure.
😊

I love Berlin and this photo essay is gorgeous! I need to get back there soon to visit some of this street art before it's gone. I love the one under the "Weeeeeeee" one :D

Yeah... vandalism at its best :)
Berlin's pretty rad I must agree.
Cheers @soyrosa

This is the first time I heard of the Zeitgeist Movement. I guess it's so well known on this part of the world. I love the street art on the wall especially the giant cosmonaut stencil.

Cheers @coloringiship. Berlin street art is inspiring, even more so for an artist like you. You'd love it there, the whole city is filled with it :)

Beautiful cherie..ive watched a video yrs ago, but would love to attend one of those. Perhaps next year?

Why not this year? Will you be out of Europe already?

Before the date ouais...got my ticket. So will see you in Asia!
Wanna join our A Walk of Hope tour? I wanna join in Palawan date TBA.
It's a 6-hours walk in a day town to town.

6-hour walk? on the road or through the jungle?
I love Palawan. Throw me the link :)

Dates to places are not confirmed as yet. And yes, thru the road.
Our artist posted on what he will be doing..it will start on April in Negros, an island somewhere in the Western part, east of Palawan.
Cool Sylvia? Will u pitch in Steemit😁😁😍
https://steemit.com/filipinoidentity/@flabbergast-art/a-walk-of-hope-lakad-ng-pag-asa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65