The Hundred-year-old Egg / Century Egg

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

egg.jpg

Photo taken in Hangzhou, China

Let's face it, the thought of eating an egg which has been described as having been preserved for 100 years doesn't sound too appetizing to most of us, does it? Well, believe it or not, this Chinese delicacy is as delicious as it looks.

Although, some of you may want to hold your breath when eating it as the strong smell can make it a bit tough to truly appreciate. I'm French so, I grew up with the idea that the smellier the food the better the taste - there may not be too many things in common with the French and Chinese, but on this point, we certainly agree.

Most commonly known in China as "Pidan" (皮蛋), these chicken, duck, or quail eggs are preserved in a mixture of clay and salt which can also include ash, quicklime, and rice hulls. Unlike their descriptive names, these eggs are not preserved for so many years, but rather several weeks to several months, depending on the method of processing.

maxresdefault.jpg

source

They can be eaten alone, but are often served with pickled ginger root. They can also accompany congee, or rice porridge, and aren't expensive as one may presume.

Through the process, the yolk changes to a dark green/grey color, with a creamy consistency and strong flavor due to the ammonia and hydrogen sulfide present. The white becomes a dark brown, translucent jelly with a salty flavor, giving it tree-like patterns near the surface. They make me think of eggs which have been trapped in tree sap - that gorgeous polished amber resin look... so fascinating to look at, you almost don't want to ruin it by chopping it all up.

I've tried some of the craziest foods throughout my travels - especially in Asia - and the Century Egg would definitely feature on the list. It's far better tasting than the embryonic duck egg from Vietnam... but that's another story!

Remember to try as many different kinds of foods as you possibly can on your travels. Accepting a local's offer to try something you may never have had is a great way for them to bond with you. Food and mealtimes are sacred in most cultures around the world - sharing it with your host and showing openness and curiosity shows a great form of respect and willingness to adapt.

Thank you @juliank for hosting these contests.

Here is a list of all the contests you can enter on a daily basis:
Monday: foodphotography and animalphotography
Tuesday: landscapephotography and cityscapephotography
Wednesday: architecturalphotography and vehiclephotography
Thursday: macrophotography and colourfulphotography
Friday: streetphotography and portraitphotography
Saturday: sportsphotography and smartphonephotography
Sunday: goldenhourphotography and longexposurephotography

ColorCircle Page Break.png

Photo source:
https://www.cookinshanghai.com/black-egg-china/

To view some of my previous posts, click on the links below:


The treasures left behind by my great-grandfather #8

The treasures left behind by my great-grandfather #7

Our unexpected adventure - Reunion island 3

The treasures left behind by my great-grandfather #6



“Learning is not a race for information, it is a walk of discovery” - Jane Healy

osm0sis sndbox.gif

Sort:  

I really enjoyed reading this, thanks. Now going to go and fry up a few eggs.

Very impressive of your introduction! Appreciated it!
I know it takes courage to taste it for the first time, but it perfectly goes with some chili and green picks and can be served as one of the best starters or sides! Simple but definitely tasty!

It was actually quite good and not as smelly as one would think... but maybe I got lucky with the one I had :)
I would definitely have it again.
Thanks for coming by @floatinglin

Wow, vous avez essaye ca!?! Plus brave que moi! Je vien d'une partie francaise du Canada et nous avons la meme notion , le plus puant... le plus delicieux mais je ne croix pas manger un oeuf de 100 ans est sur ma liste de nouvaute a essayer!! Je dois admetre qu'il est beau en aparence.

Oui, mais franchement ce n'est pas aussi dégoûtant que son nom puisse nous faire croire. Je te le recommande vivement si tu vas un jour en Chine. C'est pas pire que les pattes de poulet ou le stinky tofu (ca ca pu la m****!)

haha je suis tres allergique au tofu et tout autre produit de soybean donc il a plus grande chance que j'essaye l'oeuf que le tofu!! J'imagine avec tout ceux qui l'essaye ,ca devrait pas etre si pire, c'est plus la pensee que c'est 100 ans de vieux!

Le nom "100 ans" est en fait une image pour dire que l'oeuf est vieux, mais en réalité il n'est vieux que de quelques semaines, voir quelques mois.
C'est une experience a faire, c'est sure.

Photos are very beautiful but after reading this passage, I'm already at the verge of vomiting:

Let's face it, the thought of eating an egg which has been described as having been preserved for 100 years doesn't sound too appetizing to most of us, does it? Well, believe it or not, this Chinese delicacy is as delicious as it looks.

Can never eat them.

Anyway, I just started following you and I'm your 776th follower. I'm new to Steemit and my aim is to start using this platform as a career. It's pleasure to connecting here. Thumbs up!

Welcome on board @shahzblog!
As a Steemit newbie, you must pass the initiation challenge of eating a Hundred-year-old Egg and make a Dtube video - no vomiting allowed. You'll be receiving it shortly. Good Luck!

A video of u packing the egg then? That would be interesting😁😁

This egg doesn't look like and hasn't been described as one I would enjoy too much!

It's rotten!?

It smells a bit like your feet. But isn't that what eggs smell like anyway?

That's a bit harsh on my feet!

They are not one hundred years old (although they may look that way)

Stinky feet, stinky feet, stinky feet (doing the stinky feet dance)
I'm kidding. Your feet are fine (except for that weird little toe..)

Yuck...those socks need to be burned lolsss
Are u a foot fetish?

No I'm a stinky egg fetishist

How about being an embryonic egg fetishit? sounds like feti-shit!!

I'm fascinated and repelled simultaneously by these eggs but when I got to the photo of the fossil-like "white" I was sold. Wow, what a crazy idea to eat something aged for so long! And when traveling I'm also insatiably curious and will try most things offered.

HA! These eggs have that effect on people :) In all honesty, they really aren't that bad.
I think you can find them in Chinese markets outside of China as well, but it really isn't the same as when you try new things fully immersed in a new/unknown atmosphere.

Had never heard of that before. Embryonic eggs from the Phillippines sound disgusting but this is fascinating especially the texture of the white. Your analogy with amber fits quite well. Very interesting would probably try it. Lizard in Thailand turned out quite tasty in spite of my expectations so I like to experiment
Great article

Oooooh lizard! That's one I've never tried or even heard of. BUCKET LIST!
Thanks for stopping by @cortomaltese

It was a big lizard but turned into one of those delicious but very spicy Thai curries 😋 some local delicacy couldn't offend our hosts so went for it

Monitor lizards maybe? Hmmmm, now i'm intrigued. Had no idea lizards were eaten.

I think something like that. It was about a metre long and they said it was a delicacy there and is lucky so we couldn't refuse. This was in the south islands. I'm talking 1994 so it might be something protected now. Whatever it was it made me reconsider my previous conditionings with food

I bet it did!
Your definition sounds like a monitor... gorgeous animals, and very peaceful. First time I ever saw one was on Koh Lanta. It was crossing the road while I drove my motorbike. Freaked me out a bit to be honest. But I saw some again on beaches in the Philippines and lakes in Borneo, and yet never heard of them being food.
Let's hope it's a thing of the past.

Oh we have that in the Philippines..it's salted. If you've seen those purplish eggs, size a bit bigger than the normal ones, they are those. Eat it with rice as very salty and unhealthy lols.
I don't mind those stinky French cheese, they're nice lols

The smell is very close to that of the smelly french cheese. I think once you've tried durian, everything else is a big joke.
And you're right, with rice it's pretty tasty.
I'm a salty girl anyway :)

Haha aweful smelly and tasty piece of fruit..have u tried the durian candies lols???

I have. Those are nothing compared to the evil fruit from hell!

Tasty thu..if u cant stand the smell, there is always jackfruit. U want a lesson on bitcoin???

Hahaha! I love your no transition convos. Get on Discord!

I don't know how you did it, but you just convinced me I should try a 100 old egg.
I love trying local food, try to do it where ever I go. Sometimes it's a bit hard when everything around you are just tourist commercial restaurants.

Great post!

EGGXELLENT! You'll be receiving your 100 year-old egg by post shortly.
Next up: tarantulas from Cambodia and crickets from Thailand.
Bon appetit :)

You should try grilled baby grasshoppers..very tasty☺☺

I did! In Laos or Thailand, can't remember. But I do have a video of that somewhere...

We did it during rice harvest☺

Thank you, a great post and so true. Food is the best way to show respect to your host, and in all cases food is the way of the host to show respect and appreciation for his guests.

Very true Johann. It's reciprocal for sure. Did you try it when you were in China?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50