The fragility of life

in #photography6 years ago

I took this photo while walking on the island of Palawan in the Philippines - one of the most beautiful islands I've ever had the privilege to discover.
It is located off the northern coast of the Philippines, along the South China Sea and is quite undeveloped to this day -
so if you're ever thinking of going somewhere exotic and can't get enough of beaches, hot weather, gorgeous landscapes and beautiful people, Palawan is definitely a top choice.

Because of its commitment to protecting its amazing wildlife and natural beauty, Palawan has earned the title of "Last ecological frontier". In fact, this butterfly which was almost the size of my hand, is nothing compared to the great diversity of animals and insects found both in the sea and on land.

Did you know that the average lifespan of a butterfly is usually about one month?


Although the smallest butterflies that you can usually spot feasting on the flowers in your front yard will usually only live about one week. A very few selection of bigger butterflies (like the majestic Monarch for example) can live up to nine months.
How long a butterfly lives depends on its species but also its size, its habitat, and what time of the year it became an adult.

Imagine if you only had one month to live like this butterfly.

From its moment of birth to its death - so vulnerable, so delicate, so ephemeral... a beautiful reminder of the impermanence of life.

Butterfly.jpg

Photo taken with my Canon EOS 500D

Thank you @juliank for hosting these contests.

Here is a list of all the contests you can enter on a daily basis:

Monday: foodphotography and animalphotography
Tuesday: landscapephotography and cityscapephotography
Wednesday: architecturalphotography and vehiclephotography
Thursday: macrophotography and colourfulphotography
Friday: streetphotography and portraitphotography
Saturday: sportsphotography and smartphonephotography
Sunday: goldenhourphotography and longexposurephotography

ColorCircle Page Break.png

To view some of my previous posts, click on the links below:


Reunion Island - a new adventure

The treasures left behind by my great-grandfather #3

FOOD! Nom nom nom

Winter Wonderland 2



“Learning is not a race for information, it is a walk of discovery” - Jane Healy

osm0sis sndbox.gif

Sort:  

I saved my 10000th comment for you and this lovely Butterfly 😍

That's a very sweet thing to do. Thank you lover. I feel extra special :)

awwwww <3

The first time when I read about Osmosis was in a Biology class during my school days. There were two similar yet different processes Diffusion and Osmosis. I liked those topics because it was easy to learn those questions. When I followed you, it reminded me of that time. It seemed like good old days were back for a moment. :)

I have never been in Palawan but I would love to be there whenever I get a chance. Thanks for sharing the info.

Your photography skills are very good. I loved that butterfly photo. Excellent job @osmosis.

Steem On!

This is funny... you are the second person to tell me about your fond reminders from studying "osmosis" in biology class! Glad I can bring back pleasant memories (especially of school haha)
Thank you for your kind comment :)

Oh no, I wish I could stand first. :)

Wow.......who knew a simple butterfly has so much essence and value????
Your story and intepretation is extremely beautiful and flawless.I love this work
Its amazing

Thank you for your thoughtful comment @stephenpaul. Happy you liked it.

great photo and ruminations of the special energy and messages of the butterfly... where would we be without them!? Happy to hear this:

Because of its commitment to protecting its amazing wildlife and natural beauty, Palawan has earned the title of "Last ecological frontier".

And also sad that there are "Last ecological frontiers"... we gotta do better as a human fam making space for all life and healthier choices on earth! Enjoy your travels in the beautiful landscapes!! XO

Yes, I completely agree. Trying to do my little bit of "good" on this beautiful planet of ours, and I have the feeling I may get more ideas checking out your blogs :)
Thanks for dropping by @mountainjewel

<3 <3 <3 happy to be connected and happy you’re traveling to new sights!

Well @osm0sis first of all i would like to say that this is very very amazing photograph <3
I really did not know much about the life span of this beautiful creature of the lord, Butterfly. How beautiful yet a sad life span :(
It touched me

From its moment of birth to its death - so vulnerable, so delicate, so ephemeral... a beautiful reminder of the impermanence of life.

Very informative and an amazing blog My Friend :)

Keep sharing the quality work,

Steem On!

A butterfly is nature's reminder to live our lives to the fullest :)
Thank you for stopping by @salmanbukhari54

Great photo. I was once on my way to Palawan, but went to Mindoro instead, and never made it to that "Last ecological frontier".

Your photo and your text now make me think maybe I should make it a point to get there. It definitely sounds like the kinda place I might like.

shivering How beautiful and sad... What to do with that month?
And such a wonderful butterfly and photo :-)

Yes... what to do, what to do? Just fly and be merry :)
Thanks @kerlund74

Wow, this is a beautiful picture, thank you for sharing it! :) Focus is spot on, lighting is good, and it's composed well too. Upvoted!

Thank you so much @routa. Your comments mean a lot.

Hi osmosis. You have a beautiful profile. The way you structured and formatted your articles in photos is beautiful and innovative. Loved the way you keep these contests in a flow. :)

I didnt know such a beautiful creature lives for such a short time span. May be it is a symbol of how beautifully you can live and spread smiles even if you live for a week or a month.

Keep up making steemit a beautiful place by your photography :)

E05D58CE-D330-4223-8754-D535A37F27DC.png

Upvoted :)

Thank you so much for your kind comment and upvote @himshweta.
And I return the compliment to you... your poems are always refreshing and uplifting. Your originality is much needed on Steemit.
Cheers!

YAAAY! xoxo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40