Moths: Green Forester and Blackthorn Aurora Moth

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The green forester (Adscita statices), metaalvlinder in Dutch, is found in Europe, Mongolia and western Russia.

They fly in sunshine from May to August and are often found near sorrel, their host plant.


Olympus XZ-1, 28mm, ISO200, f8, 1/80s


Olympus XZ-1, 28mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/60s

They have a cousin that is rare in The Netherlands, the smaller Blackthorn Aurora Moth (Rhagades pruni), bruine metaalvlinder in Dutch. It hides well, doesn't visit flowers, and isn't attracted by light, so it is probably overlooked often and could be less rare than the books say.

I did manage to make one photo of this species:


Olympus XZ-1, 28mm, ISO400, f8, 1/125s

Apart from the colour of the wings, there is another difference: these have almost no proboscis (the "roll-up tongue" some insects feed with), and it doesn't eat as an adult.

They also look more ominous, but that could just be me.

Thanks for watching!

Previous in series: Clouded Buff.

Sort:  

I have an irrational fear of moths and I am stifling screams and a few other things here. BUT, since I realize I am being irrational, I try to look at pictures and imagine myself being the one taking the photo in full control of my emotions. Pardon me while I work through my therapy session on your page. ;)

While these moths are gorgeous they seem gigantic! Am I wrong? I do agree that the last one does look ominous. I'm not sure how my session is going here...LOL! I am going to resteem your post so I can do further work in privacy. :D Thanks for sharing!!!!!!

Fear of all moths? These are rather butterfly-like and not likely to circle your bed lamp at night contemplating how to attack you. Nor are the others contemplating that, but irrational is irrational, I get that.

The first one has a wing length of about 15mm (0.6"), the second species is a little smaller, and though ominous-looking, completely harmless. So, not huge.

I will try to keep posting photos of moths until you are desensitised 8-).

Well, you see, years ago there was an incident in this place called Butterfly World. I thought I would check it out because...you know, they were butterflies. One of those ginormous African Blue Swallowtails came my direction and I lost it. I made a bee line out of there and I'm pretty sure I knocked over a 5 year old along the way. Ridiculous, right?

Thank you for getting my irrationalness and for taking part in my desensitization efforts. :D

I only have photos of relatively small moths, we only have a few big species anyway, so no worries there.

I am used to having butterflies land on me when I take photos, but moths never seem to come close, I have to go to them.

Anyway, I'll stick to the small, pretty, and colourful moths for now, OK? 8-)

Ok! Baby steps. LOL!

Thanks for playing along! :)

Nice find. I photographed one recently. I don't see them very often. It was a different species to yours of course but very similar looking.

All the species at your end fly upside down, there's a difference for you.

Will you be posting the one you photographed?

Animal is beautiful my friend,I like animal.good post

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Server time: 10:30:27
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 390.72/400.00
Total Photos: 54
Total comments: 35
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

So nice photography

Amazing photography thanks for sharing

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 23 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

really beautiful colors and its antennas are very interesting my friend...You are really good at taking macro pictures especially bugs...Thanks for sharing and have a nice day my friend....:)

They use these big antennas to detect females. Feromone radar, say.

Wow, I haven't seen this kind of moth. I love the composition, you captured it beautifully.😍

Those are gorgeous specimens!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56615.57
ETH 2387.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30