Miniature mushrooms in miniature landscapes

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

After I made this photo of a dragonfly, I slid down an embankment (intentionally and fully controlled, that's my story and I'm sticking to it) and saw this tiny mushroom (cap about 12mm (0.5") across) sticking out:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO200, f4, 1/30

I thought the photo looked like a miniature landscape, and started looking around for more. Here's another little landscape:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO200, f2.8, 1/100

I had never tried landscape photography on this scale before, but I liked it.

The next photo is not of mushrooms, but lichens, one of the Cladoniae family, about 1.5cm (0.6") tall. I call them "Shrek's ears" but I doubt that is the official name. They use raindrops to carry the spores away; when the drops you see get hit by another raindrop they spray outwards.


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO200, f8, 1/8, mini tripod

I took another photo of a part of this group, to show how nice they look up close, a real miniature world:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/30

Sort:  

I really like the 2nd and the last images. The world of fungus is something else! I went to a fungus fest years ago. It's definitely has a niche fandom. Some people might consider them odd. But at the fungus fest, all the lichen stuff was put in a separate wing of the building -- lichen and their fans were seen as too extreme to include with the regular fungophiles, lol.

=D
I never knew there was such a thing as fungus fandom. I did notice that the further you go East in Europe, the more people seem to know about mushrooms and the more they like them. As food, that is.

Fungus are incredibly interesting. And there are some really delicious ones, too. I better start posting some photos of my own here! It's the season, after all.

I'm going to post some larger ones from near my home town that look edible to me, but that doesn't mean anything 8-). Edit: New mushroom post

I can see why you call those ones "Shrek's Ears."

Very detailed photos!

I'm rather disappointed that there are no fairies in sight. They are quick to abandon their real estate when when they spot an approaching giant.

=D Even a gentle giant, like me.

I would like to stress that no fairies were hurt taking these photos.

... even during the controlled slide :D

I landed on my feet, how controlled can you get?

That's controlled! :D

That shows about the same athletic prowess as I displayed during my slide, I would say.

Shame - they all look poisonous to me :(

You can also look at mushrooms in stead of eating them. You're from the Eastern parts of Europe, perhaps? 8-)

Krakow, Poland :) Not a mushroom here in the deep forests that I don't know ;)

Thought so. The further East in Europe, the more people like eating mushrooms, it seems. You don't happen to know what this and this is?

They both look like tree fungi - deffo NOT edible. Lots of photographic tree fungi here in Poland too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52