myday #34 - Travel With Me To The Pink Lake!

in #photography7 years ago

Hello Steemit Followers!


Photographing the Pink Lake


Port Gregory 016.jpg

I love going on little holidays! I had some time off and decided it would be a great idea to drive seven - yes I said seven - hours to a place that was a bit different. I wanted to photograph the incredible pink lake located north of Perth along the coral coast of Western Australia.

Port Gregory 001.jpg

The lake gets the amazing flurecent colour from Dunaliella bacteria that thrives on the salty waters. Not many people go out to see it as it really isn’t too much of tourist attraction, but I’m sure many photographers have been out there before - I mean who doesn’t want photos of a pink lake, right?

Port Gregory 008.jpg

My plan was simple, pack some clothes, food, toiletries and camera gear and set off for a few days to camp alongside the lake to capture it’s colourful water in different lighting conditions. I aimed to get there around midday to have enough time to set up and explore.

Port Gregory 002.jpg

Hours passed and I finally made it! I couldn’t believe how big the lake was. It was huge. To drive around half of the lake took around 20 minutes!

I found a suitable spot to set up my poorman’s tripod (literally falling apart) and began to set up my camera to take in the view.

As the day passed the first sunset was due. Using some Lee filters I was able to gain a correct exposure for the sky and the land to come up with this, my favourite photo.

Port Gregory 016.jpg

Port Gregory 004.jpg

Port Gregory 003.jpg

Over the next day and a half, I walked the edges of the lake to find different angles, unique shrubs, sticks and rocks to fill the foreground with the hope of making an interesting shot.

Port Gregory 007.jpg

Port Gregory 010.jpg

The whole trip was totally worth it and I highly recommend driving the distance anywhere in the world to get to a location you have always dreamed of going to!

Port Gregory 019.jpg

This pink lake is part of the native Aboriginal people’s land that we call Australia and I feel very lucky to be able to explore it. Hopefully one day you get the chance to ‘go walkabout’ too and see what Australia really has to offer.


Are you a photographer or a traveller like me?
Use #myday to share your posts and let's see where this goes!

LeighandGrace002.png

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through @steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore @myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of @myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens.


If you are interested in reading about myself and my beautiful partner Grace - @photooftheday then have a read of myday #0 where everything is explained. If you enjoyed reading this post I welcome you to upvote this article and follow me. Please drop me a comment as I would love to hear from you!


Recommended Reading


Sort:  

Upvote and resteeM)

Thank you as always @mxzn!

wow very nice pics! the first is amazing

You're Famous!! Congratulations @myday on winning THE FAMOUS SIX photography curation Awards today!

You will shortly be receiving a Randowhale Upvote or SBD 2 from me :) Enjoy and Celebrate!!

https://steemit.com/photography/@gyanibilli/the-famous-six-winners-today-3-photography-curation-awards-2017629t165725451z

Thanks for featuring me @gyanibilli

The colours in your these photos are fabulous. I like the first one. It is like in fairy tale, blue sky and pink water.

It certainly is isn't it! I never really thought of describing it as a fairy tale, now that I have heard it I should have changed the title to that! Thanks for commenting @victoriart. I'm glad you like it :)

You've increased my desire to visit Australia, thanks! )
Upv & follow

Thanks @edward.demin. You should definitely visit. Australia is waiting!

I'd say the drive was well worth it! Amazing colors that you rarely see together in nature.

Thank you @timelapse! The drive was quite long but in the end it worked out as you mentioned! Thanks for commenting :)

I am a photographer but not well like u..So i can take the idea from u..thnx for sharing

Thanks for commenting and the kind words @blurrylens - great name by the way - I'll check out some of your photography now :)

My pleasure to have a well wisher like u dear

Your posts are wonderful! I really love that first photo, thanks for sharing!

Thank you @ma1neevent. I try and put a bit of work into each post so I'm glad you like them :) Thanks for commenting :)

Great shots, I really like the second to last one...! :)

Love them all, but the tones on that first shot are incredible :))

Thanks @brumest! I'm glad you like the first one :) It's my favourite too!

It really stands out from the rest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55