Let's invade the Eilean Donan Castle - Scotland

in #photography6 years ago

The other day I went for a quick visit to the Eilean Donan Castle that was not that far from where I was staying. I went and back hitchhiking, surprisingly its very easy to do in Scotland! Normally the castle is closed in winter, but I was still able to walk around and see it up close.

DSC_5093.jpg

Arriving there this is the first view of the castle that I get, beautiful right? Eilean Donan means island of Donan, witch was a priest that constructed a church on the island in the 7th century. Interesting fact is that the castle was destroyed in 1719 and only reconstructed in early 20th century.

DSC_5081.jpg

Where is it?
Where.png

This castle became very famous after it's renovation and since then have been part of movies, but most occasionally is open for visit and marriage!

Just in front of the castle there is a charming village:

DSC_5086.jpg

Arriving closer!

DSC_5084.jpg

DSC_5088.jpg

DSC_5090.jpg

Arriving closer I realize that the defenses of the castle are still in very good shape, yes I do plan to invade it, so that's why I am inspecting it to see potential breaches! It will be nice to live there.

DSC_5094.jpg

DSC_5097.jpg

DSC_5098.jpg

What I realize is that the tide goes down quite a lot, so it is not an island after all, that's my opportunity to attack. If someone wants to be part of my plan contact me, but please don't tell anyone, I cant tell if you are not trustworthy 🧐 🤐!!

DSC_5103.jpg

!steemitworldmap 57.273896 lat -5.516158 long d3scr

Hi steemit.gif

Thank you for reading to the end, if you like this post, be sure to follow me for more. If you find this content relevant leave a upvote and resteem-it, it would be of great help.

You can find me too on Instagram, You Tube.

See my other post:
Nature Travel #12 | Beautiful walk over Skye
Walking to the Lighthouse
Somewhere in the middle of Nowhere #3

signature-fonts

Sort:  

Grappling hook to the third story window--second to the left looks vulnerable. Just watch out for boiling oil... Happy invading!

hahahahah, thanks for the tip, seems like you have some experience!!

Uau Loic!!!! Suuuper coool, I just loved your post! I am now in Steemit with the intention of writing about vernacular and bio architecture, so it was a gift see your trip by the castle :)

Hellooooooo!! Thank you, Welcome to Steemit @mariklimkievicz at last! I am well exited to see your next posts!! If you want any help just ask. =)

This ask for help will come :)

Visited here many many years ago, stayed in Kyle of Lochalsh just down the road. All my 35mm slides (yes that many years ago) are buried somewhere in the basement so haven't looked at them for a while, thus very glad you shared this!

WOW, a long time a go then @brightongreg, it would be nice if you showned us how was back then!!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in the latest edition of the #TravelDigest!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=loic.ronsse
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=let-s-invade-the-eilean-donan-castle-scotland


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59561.47
ETH 3012.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77