Nature Travel #12 | Beautiful walk over Skye - Scotland

in #nature6 years ago

I am back with my nature travels posts, and in this one I will show you this amazing walk that I did with my friend Ewan in Skye - Scotland.

Nature Travel #12(1).jpg

My friend Ewen and I walked from Portree to the famous Storr, the walk was about 13km (4 hours). We didn't encountered a single person in the way, we where completely alone, I wasen't surprised because the path was not very clear. We started the walk from Portree, that is the capital of Skye, one of the most beautiful island of Scotland.

Portree

DSC_4985.jpg

This hill was our first and unique challenge, it went up too much and too fast, arriving at the top we where both without breath.

DSC_4988.jpg

DSC_4990.jpg

DSC_4994-1.jpg

We saw something strange in the sea, maybe it's a fish farm or some other animal, if someone know what it is leave it down in the comments!

DSC_4989.jpg

DSC_5002.jpg

But the climbing was totally worth it, the view was breath taking:

DJI_0027.jpg

DSC_4995.jpg

DSC_5007.jpg

DSC_5010.jpg

DSC_5020.jpg

DSC_5031.jpg

Something very interesting that happened is Skye, I don't know about the rest of Scotland, but all the waterfalls and the rivers where frozen. That's something that didn't happened in a lot of years, even the locals where surprised by this cold and I was too!!

DSC_5005.jpg

DJI_0007.jpg

And even the ground was frozen! That's is of course a lot better to walk.

DSC_5001.jpg

But even in this cold someone manage to put fire in these hills and beyond! I think the sheep farmers need to burn their land to clear the bad bushes that sheep don't eat.

DSC_5016.jpg

DSC_5033.jpg

Anyway, we continued our walk, it was very windy and cold but we had a whisky to warm us when we arrive at the highest point. The view was beautiful, we could see the entire isle of Rassay, Portree and the Old Man of Storr.

The highest point:

DSC_5057.jpg

DSC_5035.jpg

DSC_5068.jpg

What I love the most about Scotland is the sky, the colors are so different from the ones I know...

DSC_5074.jpg

Our journey ended in the base of the Old Man of Storr, don't have pictures of it but if you google it you will see it's beauty, we where seeing from the ground.

DSC_5075.jpg

Photos taken with my Nikon D3400 and Mavic Pro

!steemitworldmap 57.443461 lat -6.153194 long d3scr

Hi steemit.gif

Thank you for reading to the end, if you like this post, be sure to follow me for more. If you find this content relevant leave a upvote and resteem-it, it would be of great help.

You can find me too on Instagram, You Tube.

See my other post:
Walking to the Lighthouse - MyPictureDay
Making my first Steemit Snowman
Somewhere in the middle of Nowhere #3

signature-fonts

Sort:  

The Isle of Skye is absolutely stunning, one of my favourite places.

I am so surprised by how beautiful it is!

It looks wonderful to me.

Ho waoo!! Really beautiful this place! Wild!!

I saw such a beautiful place because of you
thanks for shearing @lisamalletart

In to the Wild!!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=loic.ronsse
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=nature-travel-12-or-beautiful-walk-over-skye-scotland


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56264.43
ETH 2991.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21