Central Market Adventures: Today's Trip Part 2

in #photography7 years ago

If you want to take the ghetto bus to the market for a more Mexican experience, go for one like this that says "mercado" on the side. They're really cheap and honestly a dying breed, sad to say.

There's a bit of a natural foods health craze going on here in Acapulco specifically I've found.

We tried to get some free batteries to recycle for our off grid setup, sadly not having luck today. John also got his phone fixed for 20 peos; it was just something simple.

@modprobe was with us and we made a point to take him to the source of the hammocks we love so much, so he could buy some more. He had some more hooks installed (and he's just been desiring a bigger, nicer hammock like our new one) and now he's the proud owner of 3 mayan hammocks. I'll write a special post about these soon, as they're really special and worth talking about. The key is in the small but fluid weaving, it cradles the body and supports it extremely well. John often reports much better sleep in the hammock than in bed, and I've had similar results in terms of back and body pain.

This is a different kind of hammock....I like to compare this to a regular bead wheras the other weaving is like having a nice memory foam mattress. Just nice and hugs your curves without tugging at them.

Gorgeous and impressive string work.

Near a nice shady spot.

He bought this one, for 600 pesos. I love the intricate design! This is a two person hammock.

He also got this one, a huge three person hammock for 1000 pesos.

This is just one of many places like this in Mexico making these hammocks and keeping this tradition alive. These things are everywhere from construction sights (for workers to nap) to homes holding babies, as they seriously have baby sized hammocks that are commonly used here. These are just a part of life, an important part of the siestsa equation.

This kid apparently persistently asked to have us take his picture, so I did and showed it to him. He smiled and was pleased with that, so here he is. Pretty cute little kid hanging out with his mom at a stand selling shorts.

My followers may remember Fro who was my favorite chicken...and severely antisocial. She had an adorable fro and I've been looking for a replacement. Today I found her, in the form of Punk Rock Fro, with her white stripe in her afro. I hope she grows to full size and gets to live a long life, as my friend Fro died randomly and unexpectedly. We were planning on catering to her antisocial needs because she was essentially my pet. We shall see with this one.

Realistically...I have no idea how many we got but we now have a lot of chickens. Damn near purchased a full sized flock of very pretty birds I'll share soon.

Check out my other recent posts!
Central Market Adventures: Today's Trip Part 1
Teal Pendant Pipe Photo Shoot
Acapulco Sunsets: Crazy Awesome Set Part 4

Sort:  

Great colors captured @lily-da-vine ! More please on steemit ♨

In this lobby, will there be T.P.? For my bunghole?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58431.12
ETH 3142.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43