The Old Dog Says: It's Time to Face it! "Razza Umana" The Human Race!

in #photography7 years ago

For all lovers of photography and the arts there is a really thought provoking exhibition taking place in the border town of Chiasso Switzerland as well as many other locations!


If you enjoy people watching you'll love this exhibit! Image credit

The World Renowned Photographer Oliviero Toscani Presents: "Razza Humana"


You can read all about the exhibit at Oliviero Toscani's official web site here. The exhibit is being shown in 7 countries including Israel and Mexico so why not check here to see if there is one near you?

Here is the text which accompanies the display:

The United Nations Human Rights Office celebrates human diversity with the photo exhibition "Razza Umana" (The Human Race). These portraits depict people from across the globe showing our differences and what unites us as human beings.
The photos are part of an on-going project by renowned Italian photographer Oliviero Toscani, who has described the project as a "socio-political, cultural and anthropological study."


It is certainly a thrill to marvel at the diversity of mankind. Every one of the billions of humans can be instantly recognized by their face and often by their voice or the way that they move. That's diversity! I really enjoyed taking the time to examine these portraits and I really did celebrate our diversity! It's great!

Here Are Some Photographs of The Portraits

The are photos of the posters that I took with my phone. At his web site you can explore many more!


I find people fascinating. Don't you? Serious, happy, silly and stoic!


This really is wonderful diversity wouldn't you agree?


If you could sum up each of  of these four people with one word what would it be?

Here is a View of The Two Exhibition Locations in Chiasso


This is one of the locations for the exhibitions. The building in the back is an art gallery.


I must say that the exhibit is a welcome addition to the pedestrian zone of Chiasso!

What do You Think?

  • Are you a people watcher?
  • Do you think that this exhibit can unite people in some small way?
  • Do you enjoy exploring this type of exhibit?


I hope that you enjoyed this article "It's Time to Face it! "Razza Umana" The Human Race!"


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Sort:  

It looks to be an interesting exhibition, I would pick Identity as a word ffor so many different faces

Good word!

very nice, i think it is our nature to watch people.. the best is to sit outside on a terrace on a sunny day in the city and watch people with a good beer.

That sounds good to me!

and we can discuss this:
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@rival/10-years-ago-nokia-can-anyone-catch-the-cell-phone-king-what-for-btc-in-10-years
I guess you had a nokia 10 years ago.. what will happen with BTC in 10 years from now

Very interesting idea for the exhibition! Looking only at the person's face, you can already learn a lot about her or him without even asking.
Emotions, movements, facial expressions can tell a lot of interesting things.. All we have to do us just to observe.
I'm also a people watcher. When i meet someone for the first time i can make a conclusion in a few minutes who stands before me and if i will keep in touch with this person. Man can hide something and trick but his body language can't.

I think this exhibition shows us that all people are very different externally but have a lot in common.

You make some very nice points in your comment. Yes the exhibition does show us that we are all humans and one big family.

excellent work dear friend / @ kus-knee, beautiful the works of this photographer.
I am a very observant person, I like to know and know different cultures, I am very respectful with the tastes and desires of the other, the truth is not if this type of exhibitions serve to unite people of different social classes or different cultures, except that acts like a subliminal message
I take the opportunity to wish you a great day

Yes, hopefully the subliminal message can help to understand one another better.

I love portraits, this is my favorite genre of photography. Unfortunately, we do not hold such exhibitions. But here's my option :) People are really interesting and unique;)

Untitled collage.jpg

Thanks for the photos!

So interesting! I love Oliviero Toscani's works! I saw this exhibit is also in Florence, close to my city ^^
I'm a people watcher and yes, I think this can be a small nice way to unite people (I hope)^
^

Actually I had never heard of this photographer and so I was happy to "discover" him. I saw that there are many locations for the exhibit in Italy.

It's a famous italian photographer, best known for his work in campaigns using provocative photos ;)

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

For sure I have my eyes open, and I like people who have their own style.

Sometimes it could give problems of you make a picture... so dont forget to ask 😊

Could be a Nice #

Yes well the pictures are not mine. They are photos of photos!

If you could sum up each of of these four people with one word what would it be?

The word would be REAL.

They are real people, not Hollywood stars or TV stars or famous people. they are you and me - real people.

The exhibition is not coming to New Zealand, which is a shame. i think it would be well received here.

Thanks for posting this though ;-)

Thanks @trevor.george I like your take on it! You changed your avatar, I almost didn't recognise you!

You're welcome.

My nickname since i was a kid was Gnome. So what better avatar than Gnomeo?

Art takes on the dimensions of madness. Honestly, Italy is the art leader, you can not see this in Macedonia.

"Art takes on the dimensions of madness."

I like this comment. It is true in many ways however I believe that the arts give us so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79