Creating Darkness out of Existing LightsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

One of the things that captivates me about photography, and frankly all forms of rendered art is the depiction of light, especially when something dramatic is done with it. The chiaroscuro technique used by painters popularized such as Rembrandt and Caravaggio illustrates how light itself can be a significant aspect of a scene.

This photo is one of my earlier works where I began focusing on using and modulating light to and effect. In this photo I wanted to create the effect of the mushrooms being a source of light. The light that I want is already in the photo so it was just a matter of modulating the light in the right way and adding some shadows.

Mushroom Lanterns.jpgPhoto by Kelly Anderson taken with the Nikon >D5100

Here is the original photo. It is fairly well lit and exposed, and you can see that the light is primarily shining down from above and slightly from the left of the frame. This gives me a perfect directionality to the light to create the version above.

_-13.jpgPhoto by Kelly Anderson taken with the Nikon >D5100

My first task was to mask out the areas that would not be illuminated if the undersides of the mushrooms were the source of light, and then use a levels layer to bring the light down to a very low level. I used a regular layer to paint a areas where I wanted cast shadows using vivid light as the blend mode. I painted over the areas that where light was falling with the color of the light from the mushroom and used the color blend mode to give the impression that the light was from the mushrooms. In lightroom I toned the shadows to be blue to give the the impression of night time.

Let me know what you think of the effect and what you think about the role of light itself in your work or art in general.

Cheers, @kellyjanderson

If you liked this post, you I invite you to visit some of my other recent posts below.

Black Slug Banana Slug Go!Collaboration on a Carousel of Swings
Sort:  

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @kellyjanderson. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kellyjanderson to be original material and upvoted it!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Thank you for this tutorial, I'm sure gonna use it, it gives great result.

Cool, I would love to see what you come up with!

I'm going to go over old photos and see if I can find any that has the light I can use. I let you know on SteemitBC if I find some and post it.

Wow! Thank you for the photo and the tutorial! It's always nice when someone shares his "secret" techniques and tricks!
My first thought when I saw only the first picture was: "How did he do this?" I did not believe that this was the original light. "Did he use a tiny little lamp behind the mushrooms?" 😄
Yes, light is very important!
Great work! Amazing outcome! Upvoted and reesteemed.

Thanks, having someone believe that this process was done practically with actual lights in the scene tells me I did a believable and high quality job on this photo. I hope you get to use my secret in a project of your own and impress your audience as well.

Cheers,
@kellyjanderson

That's quite a process, adds so much emotion to the image.

Thanks having stirred emotion in a viewer of ones work is the pinnacle of an artists efforts!

Cheers,
@kellyjanderson

I love what you did with the photo! They look like tiny little lamps in the dark forest.

Thanks! That Ian exactly the look I was going for I am happy to hear that the effect was successful and even lore so that you love it.

Cheers,
@kellyjanderson

Perfect backdrop for a cell-animation character, or a Patrick Woodroff scene. I've always wanted to do tomographic art/photography, but the thieves of time for creative pursuits outnumber the capacity.

I love chiaroscuro too.

Very nice postproduction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20