My beloved Saskatchewan home

in #photography6 years ago

This is my home from the plane.

Saskatchewan.

IMG_2633.JPG

This is an image I have seen more times than I can count, in every season you can imagine.

I have lived and travelled all over.

Vienna.

Vancouver.

On the road for months from literally Los Angeles to St. John's, Newfoundland.

Tijuana.

Italy.

A bus from Hartford, CT to Montreal.

A few months on a homestead near Seattle.

A pilgrimage to the Balkans.

A work foray in the UK.

And these are just smatterings of it all.

What a life, truly.

But this is still home, and the most familiar, often most comforting sight for my tired soul.

Appreciating it today, all the while making plans to set up camp elsewhere.

Life is so interesting.

xx,
Kay
.
.
.
.
.
.

P.S. Want to hear me sing? Here is a cover of Love is a Battlefield, or you can even go and download one of my originals I posted to dtube this week.

Follow @kayclarity for music, photos, and writing on art and life. You can help share my work with more of Steemit by resteeming your favourite videos of mine.

I try to check out the blogs of many of my upvoters and commenters. I love to see what you're up to!

Sort:  

Nothing like a bird's eye view to put life into perspective, is there?

Very true. "Zooming out" I like to call it.

Just like Google Earth but without the computer!

Just getting back home?

A couple of weeks ago, but this is from a little while ago (hence the lack of snow :). Wish I had a snowy one to share! Should have snapped it.

Ah, no snow duh (lol)

lol! It'd actually be cool to have one from each season.

Yeah that would be cool.

Nice plane view. I have to tell, you travel a lot, I’m almost jealous.
BTW: very nice to listen to You singing “LOVE IS A BATTLEFIELD”, nice voice just like @nonameslefttouse said.

You know, it's actually funny because I really didn't consider myself someone with a travel bug and didn't really think I would be a traveller, and still don't even really have the travel "urge." It's just the way my life unfolded and what it's demanded - often I find it so tiring and just want to be home! But I am also very grateful; I have seen many beautiful places and met many beautiful people. I feel very blessed.

Thanks for checking it out and cool that you found me there :) . Glad to hear you enjoyed!

Well it sounds like a very interesting life with all the traveling. Do you do it because of work or just to explore and see new places?

It has been interesting, but the flipside is that it's been exhausting! I've probably moved 25-30 times in 10 years, and that doesn't count packing for long-term stints on the road or smaller trips (many of them). And yet I do recognize the blessing in it all; I wouldn't trade it, but it's also been very hard! Often I've just wanted to go home, or at least create a more consistent home somewhere.

My life has just unfolded in really crazy and interesting ways; I wouldn't say I chose it exactly. I went away for school, and then from there made connections that set a trajectory for my life with my music work, which has taken me all over. I have friends all over the world, and this opens up more interesting bits of life. Right now, I'm hoping to eventually move to LA for the music.

Welcome home. As one who has traveled much as well, I so relate. It's as though everywhere is home...and nowhere is home. Still, flying into San Francisco will always be the most familiar and grounding.

Incidentally, my open mic entry for this week is a song called 'Home Tonight'. Though the sentiments are a bit more solemn and introspective than you outline above, I think you might appreciate it.

ps – Thank you for the beautiful music you always offer here. Your song about your sister touched me deeply – made me cry.

You get it! Yes, exactly. I have this sinking feeling that I will never actually feel at home anywhere now--but of course that also means I've had the chance to leave my heart all over the place, which is in itself a privilege, even if a suffering.

Thanks for your kind words! I'm glad it touched you and that you appreciate my work so much. I will definitely listen to your song :)

It's true – leaving some bits of ourselves where'er we go is a privilege. Even if that sometimes means we feel as though we're scattered to the winds. We also pick up fragments of each place we've been, becoming just a little bit more interesting with each new pin on our map.

For nearly 6 years, I was traveling a lot for work (I'm a photographer and was documenting a lot of festivals.) Everyone thought it was so glamorous and dreamy. In some ways, I suppose it was, but I also found myself craving stillness. I wound up in Portland, Oregon in late 2012 and haven't been able to leave.

I do wonder when the restless need to move on will finally make its familiar appearance. It always does.

Since 2012 is pretty long! Maybe you can just keep it your home :). It's not such a bad thing at all to stay put! I think I'm going to end up in LA for a while, and then eventually the east coast, strangely enough. One of those strange little intuitions.

So glad you told me to go and listen to your song.

I love this – two threads unfolding at once.

I know I don't know you, but I suspect you'd do really well in LA. With a talent such as yours, I think you'd find a lot of support.

As I said in my other comment – let me know if you ever come through Portland! ;)

Travelling can be fun, but coming home is aleays special.

Yes - there is nothing comparable.

that is in canada right?

Saskatchewan. They like to tell us it's boring, flat, nothing to see. Yet, one can see for miles in every direction. How can they not see that?

Travelling. That's something I'll finally get to enjoy doing... soon.

I love the space; nothing sets me at rest more than gentle prairies. It's part of the reason I think when I move it will have to be to somewhere with an ocean--I likely need to be in a big city, so the country expanse is out, but will need access to SPACE.

It certainly isn't boring; it's the most gentle and unassuming and peaceful landscape I know.

Travelling. Honestly, as I said to someone else above, I never thought I'd be someone to travel even remotely as much as I have; I never had the "bug." The crazy thing is that it sounds extravagant, but it's really not been anything close to lux or expensive; all of these years, I've hardly had money, but opportunities just kept opening up in relation to my life and so I took them. I think I've only paid for a bed and breakfast or hotel a handful of times in 10 years, for example.

I won't be travelling to any tourist traps. I've always wanted to pack a few things and go for a really long walk with no destination in mind, just to see where it takes me. Crazy? Probably. Oh well.

I don't like the tourist traps either (although once in a while it can be a little bit fun). Most of my travels have been work or pilgrimages! lol

Not that crazy.

ohhhh wow cool view and picture ^^>

Cool going home? ^^ after travelling

Home now :)

Aiyaaa haha :) okieee
Actually thinking to go travel Ukraine at june! I'm suppsoed to try make cover song and awesome video also
( T.T. not good at it but i would try haha)

haha you should :) And Ukraine sounds fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43