You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My beloved Saskatchewan home

in #photography7 years ago

Welcome home. As one who has traveled much as well, I so relate. It's as though everywhere is home...and nowhere is home. Still, flying into San Francisco will always be the most familiar and grounding.

Incidentally, my open mic entry for this week is a song called 'Home Tonight'. Though the sentiments are a bit more solemn and introspective than you outline above, I think you might appreciate it.

ps – Thank you for the beautiful music you always offer here. Your song about your sister touched me deeply – made me cry.

Sort:  

You get it! Yes, exactly. I have this sinking feeling that I will never actually feel at home anywhere now--but of course that also means I've had the chance to leave my heart all over the place, which is in itself a privilege, even if a suffering.

Thanks for your kind words! I'm glad it touched you and that you appreciate my work so much. I will definitely listen to your song :)

It's true – leaving some bits of ourselves where'er we go is a privilege. Even if that sometimes means we feel as though we're scattered to the winds. We also pick up fragments of each place we've been, becoming just a little bit more interesting with each new pin on our map.

For nearly 6 years, I was traveling a lot for work (I'm a photographer and was documenting a lot of festivals.) Everyone thought it was so glamorous and dreamy. In some ways, I suppose it was, but I also found myself craving stillness. I wound up in Portland, Oregon in late 2012 and haven't been able to leave.

I do wonder when the restless need to move on will finally make its familiar appearance. It always does.

Since 2012 is pretty long! Maybe you can just keep it your home :). It's not such a bad thing at all to stay put! I think I'm going to end up in LA for a while, and then eventually the east coast, strangely enough. One of those strange little intuitions.

So glad you told me to go and listen to your song.

I love this – two threads unfolding at once.

I know I don't know you, but I suspect you'd do really well in LA. With a talent such as yours, I think you'd find a lot of support.

As I said in my other comment – let me know if you ever come through Portland! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65631.30
ETH 2609.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70