COVER TIME: Acoustic 80s - "LOVE IS A BATTLEFIELD"

in #music7 years ago (edited)

I will soon post the full-sung version of this, too, but wanted to experiment with both versions again like I did with Sia's Elastic Heart. It's interesting to post both and compare responses.

Here is my low-key acoustic version - aka, the version devoid of sassy shimmying shoulders.

Lyrics below.

"Love is a Battlefield" by Pat Benatar

We are young
Heartache to heartache we stand
No promises
No demands
Love is a battlefield

We are strong
No one can tell us we're wrong
Searching our hearts for so long
Both of us knowing
Love is a battlefield

You're begging me to go
Then making me stay
Why do you hurt me so bad
It would help me to know
Do I stand in your way
Or am I the best thing you've had

Believe me
Believe me
I can't tell you why
But I'm trapped by your love
And I'm chained to your side

We are young
Heartache to heartache we stand
No promises
No demands
Love is a battlefield

We are strong
No one can tell us we're wrong
Searching our hearts for so long
Both of us knowing
Love is a battlefield

When I'm losing control
Will you turn me away
Or touch me deep inside
And when all this gets old
Will it still feel the same
There's no way this will die
But if we get much closer
I could lose control
And if your heart surrenders
You'll need me to hold

We are young
Heartache to heartache we stand
No promises
No demands
Love is a battlefield

We are strong
No one can tell us we're wrong
Searching our hearts for so long
Both of us knowing
Love is a battlefield
.
.
.
.
.

P.S. If you enjoyed this, you may also enjoy listening to one of my original recordings on dsound or my a cappella singing of Les Mis' "On My Own.". Or, there is my Open Mic entry for this week..

Follow @kayclarity for music, photos, and writing on art and life. You can help share my work with more of Steemit by resteeming your favourite videos of mine.

I try to check out the blogs of many of my upvoters and commenters. I love to see what you're up to!

Sort:  

This is nice, please keep on writing and singing

Cool work !! As always ^^

Thanks :). Looks like your reputation is going up nicely over there!

You really have a beautiful voice & delivery style...dam

I really appreciate that. Lots of years of work and blood, sweat, and tears, but it's worth having the avenue to share from the guts out. Thanks for listening and commenting, friend!

great lyric and music, i like it
i resteem you post

you have a beautiful voice

A lovely stripped down version - exposes all the emotion.

Hey there Kay, I like this version better. Just caught the other version I really enjoyed both. But this one just hit harder at me. As always fantastic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57774.35
ETH 2339.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44