Hawaii Photos - Round 2 (LAVA & PLANTS!)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I posted some pretty sweet lava covering the road photos a few days ago. Now I want to post some photos from my trip to Hawaii that cover other amazing things like lava, plants, lava, and turtles!

Lava and Plants!

Sea Turtles

Green Beach (Olivine Sand)

Pololu Valley and Beach

More Lava and Plants

This was a lava lake not long ago, but now...Plants!

Ok, I see where this post is going. Last one...a plant...that is now lava. Lava Trees:

Feel free to check out my other posts on science, photography, volunteer computing, sustainability, cryptocurrencies with a purpose, and travel. Here are some of my favorites:

Photography and Travel

Hawaii – Lava and Plants
Death to Snowballs!
End of the Road – Lava!
Sunset Over Mt. Tamalpais, California
Toque Macaques in Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Birds on San Francisco Bay – With GIFs
My Favorite Places to Backpack in the US
Why You Should Visit Arkansas: Mountains, Rivers, Public Diamond Mines & Great Food!
Sleepy Lizard

Sustainability and Climate

Renewable Energy Now Provides More Electricity Than Nuclear in the US
Using Algae for Wastewater Treatment and Biofuel Production
Why Climate Progress Will Continue in the USA.
Six Non-tree Things Paper Can be Made From (I promise these are interesting)
Drawdown - The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming

Science, Volunteer Computing, and Gridcoin

Let Your Computer Dream About Science While You Sleep (& Earn Cryptocurrency For Doing So!)
Steemit Writers, Science Needs Your Help! Get the word out on how any computer or Android can boost research on cancer, astrophysics, clean energy & more!
The Best Volunteer Computing Screensavers – Crowdsourcing Project
Scientists of Steemit! Tell us about your research on #Science!
BOINC – Impressive Accomplishments and Incredible Potential

Sort:  

These are some amazing photos !! I love the last one especially

Thanks! It was really an amazing place. We got snowed out (of all things!) on one of our planned trips up Mauna Kea.

As long as you still enjoyed :D

These are some great pics, I love the one of the sea turtle
what did you use to take these?

I think I had a little Olympus digital. I'm a big backpacker, hiker, camper, kayaker, so I've always had a thing for waterproof cameras even if they were slightly lower megapixels or didn't sync up over wifi, etc. Got some good videos too, but too lazy to upload to YouTube right now.

Thanks! That place was nuts!

I always downplayed Hawaii until I finally visited. It sooo lives up to the hype! Had an amazing time until I lost my wedding ring in the ocean. 😂😩💀

So true! I was the same way. I put off going to Hawaii for a long time thinking it'd be too touristy and resorty. IT WAS AWESOME. We only did the Big Island and Honolulu. I'm torn between going back to do more Big Island or try one of the others that I hear are also amazing in very different ways. Any recommendations?

Unfortunately my stay was brief and only in Oahu! But some touristy stuff I actually really loved (rented a scooter, snorkeled hanauma bay, shaved ice). Otherwise I just hit as many water falls and trails as I could.

Big Island sounds amazing- Heard there are some awesome black sand beaches.

omg these photos are amazing

I love the first photo the contrast between the coulourful flower and the muddy lava

Yes! As I was working on this post, I quickly realized that I was obsessed with that. Life popping up out of something like lava. Molten rock covered and destroyed whatever was there before, but a few years later, in the wet parts at least, small bright green plants start popping up surrounded by black. More years pass and you get amazing trees and shrubs.

What island are on on. I was there about 3 months ago and stayed on Maui. It was so amazing!

These are all on the Big Island.

I heard it is amazing. Lush and beautiful. I am going to have to make a trip to see the big island.

I haven't been to most of the other islands, but the Big Island is....Big. And therefore diverse. It has snowcapped mountains, jungles, beaches, resorts, hippy communes, stuff that feels like the desert, stuff that feels like rainforest, great food, good breweries, AND...LAVA and PLANTS!

Fantastic first photo! As from another planet!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51