The Best Volunteer Computing Screensavers - Crowdsourcing Project

in #boinc7 years ago (edited)

Hey BOINCers and other volunteer computing enthusiasts! I think one of the coolest parts about running volunteer computing projects on my computers (and in the past, sometimes work computers) is how great the screensavers are. Many of them either: 

1. Make me feel really good about myself (its ok to admit that! And it might help recruit more volunteers), or

2. Make me feel smart. This one is pretty silly when you think about it since it isn't me that is being smart or even my computer, but hey, you can't argue with feelings.

An example of one that makes me feel good about myself? Try not feeling great when you see that your computer is helping "Smash Childhood Cancer":


And if watching protein folding calculations or radio signal processing take place at a rapid clip doesn't make you feel a little brainy I'm not sure what would. 

So here is the crowdsourcing part. Post your favorite screensavers in the comments!

If you follow me on here, you'll know by now that I love getting the word out on BOINC, World Community Grid, Gridcoin, & volunteer computing. I think showing people the best screensavers might be valuable in our efforts to get people to start volunteering (or mining Gridcoin). I don't run every project out there and I'm not even sure my current 2 clunky old laptops COULD run every project, so I need your help!

Thanks in advance! 

Also, I don't think there is anything in screensavers that could present a security risk, but please check before posting and feel free to cover up any personal info (username, etc). 

Note: some photos from phones, etc. are geotagged. Also, if you take a photo of your computer careful with that reflection! ;) I think I see myself in one of these.

Here are some from the projects I run:


Here are some others I found (I don't think they'll mind since it is for a good cause):

Folding@home

Sort:  

I put a comic up about it a few days ago; I love the Screensavers.

https://steemit.com/gridcoin/@andrewgenaille/gridcoining-screensavers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51