Drawdown - The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Last year, I had the distinct pleasure of spending several months serving as a Research Fellow for Project Drawdown, which recently resulted in the publication of:

This book made it onto the NYT Bestseller list for nonfiction and has sold tens of thousands of copies. It summarizes the top solutions to global warming that, spoiler alert, will also have the side-benefits of boosting employment, growing the economy, improving food and water security, empowering women, protecting public health, and preventing the catastrophic acidification of the ocean and accompanying mass die-offs to name just a few.

This book and the solutions it describes using beautiful (aka accessible and non-technical) language and amazing photographs (check the "Look Inside" option here) was thoroughly researched over many years by dozens of scientists, academics, and policy experts. Solutions were discovered rather than predetermined and the final rankings were based on detailed and careful modeling based on data collected from thousands of journal articles and other quality sources.

For anyone looking for a proactive book on global warming and climate rather than paralyzing literature full of doom and gloom, check out this book and/or the website. Let me know what you think and feel free to ask me any questions in the comments!

Main Drawdown Website

My Research Fellow Page

Sort:  

Wow that must have been an awesome project to be a part of.
I looked at the website, I agree with much of the assessment, I have solar panels on my house and Im trying to help global adoption with crypto incentives like www.solarcoin.org

Nice! I will have to look at SolarCoin again. I move too frequently to get solar panels, but have been fascinated by the many other ways people have come up with to support solar. Ooh, post idea!

I just made a post daring people to buy SolarCoin, just a little bit, whats the worst that can happen?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51