Just because (warning - cuteness is contained in this post).steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Hello Steemians,

In amongst researching crypto-tokenism, Steemology and cyberneticality, I do have a large place in my heart for animals. I used to say that I was a dog lover, but realised that I love cats and horses and birds and squirels and... well, you get the general idea, I'm sure. I had a dog called Mello, who I will write a special post for, but I doubt if I have any pictures of her, if only a few. We were too busy enjoying life to take pictures of it and it is a heck of a tale, so will not offer any spoilers to the future post.

But, that said, I have had the opportunity to be guardian or dogsitter for short periods of time and whilst in the company of such hairy fluff-boxes, I have had the opportunity to take a few snaps on my Nokia phone. So, I thought I'd share some with you here, 'just because' :).

WP_20150607_002.jpg

That's a picture of 'Honey', when she was a cocker-spaniel puppy. This picture was taken on the local park, Spring Gardens, Buxton, on one of the rare sunny days we get here. Cocker-Spaniels are crazy little fluffy bears that suddenly fall asleep occasionally and then wake up all alive and bouncy, ready to play and chew things. Skin is normally the best teething aid for Cocker puppies, they discovered. Cocker-Spaniels are three things: Greedy - Nosey - Stupid. On top of these wonderous attributes, our fluff-filled friends are rather vocal, to say the least and they influence each other in a style somewhat akin to the toppling dominos of 'Record Breakers' fame (U.K. T.V. programme that ran from December 1972 - December 2001).

Oh yes, they can sing and howl and moan and whine and growl all at once and all at the same time, too, but definitely never in harmony. They do tend to base their howling and moaning around a complaints based system. They are very clever dogs. They are masters of the old, "Waiter, there's a fly in my soup", grift. They know how to manipulate people when they are not concentrating fully on what's going on. When they get back from a long walk, they get a treat, so, because they go in the car, if something is fetched from the car, they get in the car and when they get out, they ask for the treat :). When I was told this it made me laugh at the deviousness, manipulativeness and sheer cleverness and cheeky gall of the dynamic trio. Did I say trio? Ah, yes, well, I'll explain, but first, here's Honey's sister,

'Nellie':
WP_20150607_006.jpg

Nellie was on the park with us, of course, that day, with Honey and here they are together, both being true Cocker-Spaniels,

"What's this? Can I eat it?":
WP_20150607_004.jpg

..... and, "What's this? Can I eat it?":
WP_20150607_007.jpg

........ and after a swim in the river Wye:
WP_20150626_007.jpg

And then it was back to my flat where they could have a bite to eat and a sleep:
WP_20150607_012.jpg

Sometimes, they would sleep separately:

(Nellie next to Amber's foot)
WP_20150607_010.jpg

(Honey in the kitchen, next to the food bowl)
WP_20150607_014.jpg

And sometimes they would cuddle up together:
WP_20150626_003.jpg

....... on different chairs:
WP_20150710_002.jpg

No prize I'm afraid, but can anyone guess what that is on the settee. This is a family friendly post, remember :). I feel like I'm forgetting something here..... hmmmmmmm. OH! I almost forgot about the other...... TWO! Along with Honey and Nellie, came

'Romi'.....
WP_20150626_004.jpg

Romi was an older member of the household where they lived, but was probably the most mental of them all. She might look moderately sombre in this picture, but believe me when I tell you that it's all just an enormous front. Mad, loud and in your face. But, the eldest of the quartet, was a bit of a grump at times, but to be fair, her home had been invaded by three bouncy invaders, made of fluff and ears. She unfortunately is no longer with us, but like all dogs, you never forget them and the many times you have with them. Meet

'Lady', or 'Queen Lady' as she thought she was:
WP_20150626_005.jpg

BUT!! Above and way beyond all of what I have said about these four dogs, they're beautiful and I adore looking after them, as it's so therapeutic and nice to have the company. They're always so happy to see you and yes, I am well aware that there's a fly in my soup :).

As a last word, I could express how I feel about these dogs with words, saying that they are so lovable and so much fun to be with, but I will end on a relaxed note and let it be said with pictures.

WP_20150627_003.jpg

WP_20150627_005.jpg

WP_20150627_008.jpg

Thank you, very much for viewing and reading :).

All of my posts are 100% original work and always 100% powered up for Steem rewards. Re-investing in Steem with every post, to better help the Steem community. 100% of the curator rewards for this post will go to the curators. Thank you.

Sort:  

Dogsitting is fun! It's great to be able to play with the pups and learn their quirks. Thanks for the post and adorable pics!). The two cuddled up together nearly broke my cute meter! As for a guess to what is on the couch,my guess is a trick finger. Have a good one!

Hi Brisby.

I've had to replace carpets after dogsitting pups and untrained dogs, but alll worth it and would I do it again? Yes, I intend to, as soon as I am asked, which may be soon. I shared them because I think they are so gorgeous and cute. Your guess was correct, it is indeed a trick finger which Nellie got attached to.

Thanks for the comment, mate and have a nice day/evening.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Your puppies are very very cute. :)

Hi @somena.

They're Amber's familes' puppies and a bit older now, but I may be able to sit them soon and if I do will be getting a lot more pictures. And yes, they are cute............ or were ha, ha.

Thanks for commenting, I trust you are well.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gwb235 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Check out our contests as well!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59214.68
ETH 2622.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44