Homemade Easter Candy Chocolate PB Eggs - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Chocolate Peanut Butter Easter Egg Cake Truffles- (Vegan) #Easter-4.jpg

Hey again, I’m here to (surprise, surprise) tell you about something chocolate!

Okay, I know I should be sharing something a little bit more balanced to help inspire you to start your week off right, but……. well chocolate. Did you catch that part? Oh, and there’s peanut butter too!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Easter Egg Cake Truffles- (Vegan) #Easter-5.jpg

Since the very first months of blogging until now I’ve always wanted to be super organized and planned with my recipes but with the craziness of life things don’t always pan out as I plan.

So anyway, I found myself trying to brainstorm some last-minute recipes recently and of course I had Easter on my mind since it’s getting very close. I wanted to make something fairly simple but also delicious.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Easter Egg Cake Truffles- (Vegan) #Easter-3.jpg

Come on, you know you still have childhood memories and favorite treats that can make you happy in a moment. For me one of those candies would probably be sour gunny worms, omg, I used to love them, but for most of my family it’s something chocolate. In the chocolate category I used to love Reese’s peanut butter eggs and they are definitely at the top of favorites in my house.

It seems like I make them almost every year around this time and I almost always use the same recipe. This year, however, I was thinking maybe I’d try a different version and I just happened to have a bunch of cake crumbs that I wanted to find a use for. That was it, cake truffles just made sense and they were a big hit. I used a simple cake recipe that I actually just shared last week. Honestly these are so easy and I just loved the texture difference when using cake.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Easter Egg Cake Truffles- (Vegan) #Easter-2.jpg

So I hope you decide to try them and that you’re having a great month so far. Also, don’t hesitate to let me know what you think of them. Getting feedback about my recipes when you try them always makes my whole day.

Homemade Easter Candy Chocolate PB Eggs


A slightly different approach to a classic Spring/Easter favorite Reese's Peanut Butter Egg candies, using cake as the main ingredient. These are super easy and fun to make with kids!

Prep Time 30 minutes
Chilling Time 30 minutes

Ingredients


1 recipe for vanilla or yellow cake mix see note*
2/3 cup natural creamy peanut butter
3 tablespoons coconut oil melted
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons coconut oil
14 oz about 400g dairy free semi-sweet dark chocolate, roughly chopped

Instructions


Bake your cake according to recipe instructions (or package instructions if using mix) and cool completely. Once cooled, crumble the cake into fine pieces, you can do by hand or in processor.
Combine melted coconut oil, peanut butter, vanilla, and powdered sugar and mix until smooth. Add in the cake crumbs and gently fold into the other ingredients until it all starts to form a dough-like mixture.
Divide the dough into balls (about 1 1/2 tablespoon each) and shape into "eggs" then place on parchment covered baking sheet or plate. Refrigerate for 1 hour or freeze for at least 30 minutes.
After cooling the eggs, melt chocolate and butter or shortening in a small saucepan or double boiler over low heat. Dip each egg into chocolate and turn to coat all sides before placing it back on the tray. Repeat with all truffles. Place the pan in refrigerator or freezer to allow chocolate to cool completely then use a thin spatula to loosen from pan. Store in an airtight container. (P.S. these are so good chilled!)
Recipe Notes
*If you'd like to keep this simpler feel free to use a boxed yellow or vanilla cake mix and cook according to package directions.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast.jpg

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Simply Frosted Carrot Cake
  2. Springtime Pasta Salad
  3. Coconut & Pistachio Dark Chocolate Brownies
  4. Vanilla + Chai Oats
  5. Peanut Butter Chocolate Protein Bars

Chocolate Peanut Butter Easter Egg Cake Truffles- (Vegan) #Easter-1.jpg

Banner 2019=framed7.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Cook from me wasted, so I did not read the content, but I like photos in the post. I leave upvote.

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Sweet and melodious this is purely love :D

Ohh Recently I wanted to make some chocolate candy so your recipie has fallen from the heaven! :) thanks! Lovely photos :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01