Spiced Caribbean Falafel Wraps - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Caribbean Jerk Spiced Sweet Potato Falafel Gyros (Vegan+GF)-0878.jpg

Hey, guess what? It’s Meatless Monday again!

Okay, for all of you aren’t overly thrilled with this idea, hold on just a sec, pretty please! Really, just give these a chance and I think you’ll be surprised how good these gyros are. Plus, how can you go wrong when you stuff anything into a fresh and fluffy pita, come on? It’s almost a no-fail situation.

Caribbean Jerk Spiced Sweet Potato Falafel Gyros (Vegan+GF)-2.jpg

The flavors going on here were a total spur of the moment decision for me because I had actually been planning to make a more traditional Greek gyro recipe with tzatziki but somehow or other I got inspired by these very different flavors of Caribbean jerk spice and just went for it.

I’m so happy I did too, because now I wouldn’t change a thing (okay, maybe a few tiny little things if I think about it too long because I’m a stubborn perfectionist, but nothing major since they were great as is).

Caribbean Jerk Spiced Sweet Potato Falafel Gyros (Vegan+GF)-0755.jpg

I love Jerk spices with pretty much anything, but in these falafels especially, they were delish. And obviously the pitas are always a going to be a hit no matter what. I couldn’t even make them fast enough to keep up with demand around here if I wanted to, but when I do get in the mood to crank some out they are well appreciated .

Caribbean Jerk Spiced Sweet Potato Falafel Gyros (Vegan+GF)-0767.jpg

Spiced Caribbean Falafel Wraps


Get adventurous with you taste palate and try these homemade gyros that are anything but traditional!

Prep Time 25 minutes
Cook Time 20 minutes
Total Time 45 minutes
Servings 4 - 5 servings

Ingredients


Falafels:
1 1/2 cups peeled cooked sweet potato
1 2/3 cup cooked garbanzo beans
-Caribbean Jerk Spices:
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon each of:
chili powder
paprika
curry
ginger
cinnamon
cloves
allspice
oregano
black pepper
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
oil for frying
Toppings:
Your favorite bbq sauce optional
1 red bell pepper seeded and thinly sliced
1 medium tomato diced
1 cup washed iceberg lettuce or napa cabbage I like the crunch from the cabbage
1 large carrot grated
1 medium onion thinly sliced
1/2 cup pineapple diced
4 - 6 large pitas gluten free or vegan if needed (for homemade pitas you can use the ones from THIS RECIPE)

Instructions


Falafels:
Combine all of the ingredients for the falafel, except the frying oil, in a food processor (a blender will work also if that's all you have) and pulse until combined into a nearly smooth mixture. It should be a thick dough.
In a large skillet, heat about 1 inch of oil over medium low heat (You can use a deep-fryer for cooking them instead if you have one.) Using a large scoop, form balls and drop them carefully into the pan. Flatten them slightly with a spatula and cook them on each side for about 3 minutes until crispy.*
Gyros:
If desired, warm the pitas in a foil-packet in the oven or one by one on a lightly greased skillet. Fill each pita with the falafels, your desired veggies, and your favorite bbq sauce if desired. Enjoy!
Recipe Notes
*Alternatively, the falafel can be baked on a greased baking pan for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees F (180 C) until browned. Also, if they seem a bit too soft after frying, baking them for about 10 minutes after they're fried should be enough to help make them more solid.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast.jpg

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Simple & Quick Black Bean Lentil Chili
  2. Raspberry Chocolate Chip Cupcakes
  3. Vanilla Bean Icing Topped Chai Donuts
  4. Veggie Scramble & Sweet Potato Waffles
  5. Mushroom Broccoli Creamy Gnocchi

Caribbean Jerk Spiced Sweet Potato Falafel Gyros (Vegan+GF)-0833.jpg

Banner 2019=framed7.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Mmmmm....it's always so delicious visiting you @gringalicious!

A succulent post, @gringalicious. I really like Arabic food, especially falafel with chickpea or lentil croquettes. I think it's a healthy food with a rich flavor because of all the spices that are added to it, I'm a fan of cumin and curry. Really delicious and nutritious. Greetings, @gringalicious

Oh, yes cumin and curry are delicious flavors! Thanks my friend!

This looks fantastic!!! I love Falafels!!! And ... of course, yours look perfect.


4 - 6 large pitas gluten free or vegan if needed (for homemade pitas you can use the ones from THIS RECIPE)

I'd love to see your Pita Recipe. Was it supposed to be linked?

Using Google, I found it in one of your comments. :-)

Ingredients
1 cup warm water
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon active dry yeast
1 tablespoon sugar
2 tablespoon oil
3 cups all-purpose flour

That's it, sorry about that. I'll have to look at the link issue.

That's definitely something to try out!!! I've only made falafels with traditional spices, but you've inspired me to try out something new @gringalicious ! And that sweet potato is a very interesting addition...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I'm so glad you like it.

Rico en mi paladar

I approve of this message lol. It looks almost too beautiful to eat... almost. I've never had Caribbean style. I'll have to give this a try. Thanks for the post.

Thank you so much!

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Loved the extra spicy texture makes it looking red hot :D

Thanks, I always love hearing from you.

That looks delicious! Some beautiful pics and a great recipe. Thanks for sharing.

It's my pleasure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60833.36
ETH 3370.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49