Lines, Light & Shade : How does it work in Photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Lines, Light & Shade Cover.jpg

The very existence of things makes us believe into reality. It could either be tangible or it could be imaginary. But in any case, our perception of things depends on how we look at it. Our impression of objects could be different depending on how we look at it.

The basic definition of line is simply a point in motion. A line is created when a point is connected to another point. A shape is created when lines are joined together to form an enclosed space. A rhythm is created when lines are arrange in a consistent manner. From the rhythm of lines we could then create a pattern or texture.

Now that we learn about the basics of line and the result that it can produce. The question is, how do we relate this to photography? We take photographs based on how we perceive the things around us. What if we could manipulate the way we look at things to show a different point of view of the subject.

On a standing position, the human field of vision is limited to 50° angle when viewing in an upward direction and 70° angle when viewing in a downward direction. The figures for the viewing angle are based on the movement of our head and eye that is considered to be within our comfort zone. Below is a graphic representation of the human field of vision.

Viewing angle.png

image source



Since we already lay down all the theory and facts about lines and human vision, let's put it in practice! And so I went out to search for a subject that will have an interesting point of view. I found it at city area, along the Beach road of Bugis, the name of the building is Andaz Residence. My impression on the building is that it was probably inspired by the structure of a beehive.

DSC08798-1.jpg

Andaz Residence when viewed from distance

The building looks really interesting and daunting at the same time. My thought was how do I approach it in a photographic sense. What I normally do is to scout the area for a clear vantage point. The beehive building is surrounded by tall buildings that interfere with the interesting view that I initially found. I came up to a decision to approach it in a close up view and an extreme angle.



The first approach I did is the simplest one, to look for the symmetrical spot. I went near to the building, stand in front of it and position myself at a spot where both sides are symmetrical with each other. When it comes to the colour, I also simplify it settled to a black and white image. The result was other-wordly, the building appears to be moving away or moving towards me.

DSC08752-1.jpg



My second take is to look for a dynamic view of the beehive pattern. The approach is similar to the first one except that I moved away from the subject and I tilted the view.

DSC08750-1.jpg



While moving around the subject, I notice the beehive pattern on the face of the building could also shown in a close up view. On this next take, I shown the pattern that is almost flat. To put some dynamics to the image, I tilted the angle of the view. The result is a consistent movement of pattern crossing diagonally on the image.

DSC08749-1.jpg



Lastly, I played around the scale of the pattern and the dynamics of the overall picture. The building itself is formed by the podium which is the lower portion of the building and three towers. I position the view to show both the beehive patter of the podium and one of the towers. On this shot, I also titled the view to created dynamics to the hexagonal pattern.

DSC08759-1.jpg




Photography is a visual representation of the way we perceive the objects around us. It could be as simple as looking to a building from the street where we normally walk along. We could also view from another tall building next to it and show a front view of it. The key in producing a compelling image is to look for an interesting point of view and simplify the way we look at the subject.


[ all photos presented to this post were taken and edited by me @funtraveller unless otherwise specified ]


Thank you for visiting.

Please do share your thoughts, comment, and upvote if you like the post.


"Have a great day everyone!"

Sort:  

Thanks @avila.photo, im glad you liked it.

It's interesting what they actually put on the outsides of buildings.. These actually look pretty cool.

Congrats on the win.

Yeah its really cool! I was amazed to see it in actual. Thanks for your feedback @kiokizz.

amazing pics, love the angles of the photos.

Thanks @claudiaz, yeah these are my fave among the dozens photos of this building.

well, these are special photographs

Love all of them

Thanks a lot @prakashghai i really appreciate your feedback.

Very nice shot. I like it.

Thanks for your feedback @tawasiriwach🖒😄

post a very good @funtraveller, I really liked posts you share, it makes me to be more experience, you exceptional in issuing idea creative ,, I wait your post the next. MAS "Clay once - once in my account @ nanda05 ,,

Thanks a lot Nanda, im glad you liked my post / ideas. Im also new here and starting to learn. Keep up the good work Nanda and keep posting also. Have a nice day.

When you mentioned the word beehive, I looked again at the photo and sure is. 😄 Beautiful shots.

Yeah id like to call it that way lol. Thanks for your feedback.

I can see that you like nature, let me share one of my post >>Terrarium<< in future ill do updates and new additions to this series.

Have a nice day.

Thanks for the link. Will sure head on the link after responding here. Yes I like nature photos and travel posts which I find myself spending much of my time on Steemit. 😄

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @funtraveller to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 3.33 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @funtraveller. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94