The Hands of an Artist!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I looked at his hands, the nerves almost resembling the roots of a tree that has seen life and stood the test of time and captured these two images that will last as long as Steemit stays online!

My grandfather is now 88 years young and has worked a long and hard life as an artist and teacher. I shot these two pictures when he was visited me not too long ago. For his age he's quite fit and goes about his life with zest. Every time, he's over I listen to stories of his childhood and younger days. Life in India in the middle of the 19th century is a stark contrast to our lives today.

He worked very hard and had a multitude of skill sets which I greatly envy. He even built his home himself with these two hands, provided for his family and raised my mother and aunt working everyday of the week!

He painted some incredible paintings over his long tenure as an artist and even had India's greatest Michelin starred Chef, 'Vikas Khanna' as his student. I'll share some of these stories and pictures with you soon!

The craftsman knows what he wants to make before he makes it.…The making of a work of art…is a strange and risky business in which the maker never knows quite what he is making until he makes it – R.G. Collingwood

These hands have seen and created it all!

Thank you for your attention and support!


If you like my work, please share my posts and follow my blog to support me. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. 3 Excellent Reasons for HODLing Steem as Steem Power!
  2. LetsTalk—Results From Leveraging Facebook To Promote Steemit Content!
  3. This is My Plan for STEEMFEST 2017 + Slots Open for My Crew + Requesting Feedback!
  4. LetsTalk—Can We Be Brutally Honest Without Hurting People?
  5. Ike's 1957 Chevrolet Bel Air (B&W) Photoshoot!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

An artist never gets old, he gets younger with his ideas and wiser with his experience.....
An artist holds many stories in his arts.
You too as a writer is getting younger and wiser each day, each day life is getting better and better.
You too are holding a lot of stories in your writings and like great artists, your work will be here forever.

Thanks for the great comment! :)

I love your story that belongs to his picture. I hope I will get to that age some day.

Thank you for sharing, I feel like I get to know you a little bit more every day :)

The other day I was babysitting my niece and nephew and they were looking as the scars on my hands and many of them told a story of how I was able to provide for my family or helping a friend of when his car broke down. I looked at those scars as a little way to remember a small piece of history from my life that I was able to then later share to inspire a little one to work harder and smarter to provide and serve their future family. But doing whatever it takes to get the job done at times.

Thanks for being the spark to bring this memory back to light for me.

Wow! Thank you for sharing your story with me! That's just incredible. I'm glad you liked this and I appreciate you taking the time to leave me a comment. :)

"art for life's sake" thanks for sharing ! Yes hands of the artist , the maker's hand seen in the work, hands to build friendship, hands to help, hands to greet, hand of God .....crucified hands ... hands of love reaching out to a lost world.

Thank you for this beautiful comment!

amazing story.. great photograph :)

thanks buddy

Beautiful story behind the photo. I have a photography book at home by Lee Jeffries.. It reminds me of the style of his work.

Oh wow! I'm humbled by your comment. :) Thank you for following my work!

Great post, love ur story :0) followed and upvoted. Thx for sharing

beautiful! you should enter into a photography competition, more people need to see your work, this is stunning

Wow! Thank you for the kind words! :D

Nice one! Keep it up :)

Thank you! :)

Reaaly amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00