Colorful Colorado #13- Building up a Following!

in #photography7 years ago

Salute Steemians

As I continue to add more series to my blog and cycle through them, some of these posts are taking a couple weeks to pick back up! I guess that's a good thing as I have plenty to blog about, and show no signs of running out of material :) Lately I've been trying to be more punny and efficient by incorporating a couple different concepts into one post. In addition to making this a #colorfulcolorado post, I also wanted to take a moment to recognize a landmark for my Steemit page:



P1000315.JPG
Followers building up like this stack of stones, yo



My Steemit following has surpassed my Facebook likes/following!!!! I'm over 500 followers on Steemit and counting!

Yipppeeeeee!!!!



Thinking about all this growth I've been seeing on Steemit reminded me of this photo I took at Garden of the Gods park in Colorado Springs, CO. I did not stack these stones, but found a stack whilst hiking. Instead of knocking it over, I found a stone to place on top of it [insert metaphor about how we should always help build each other up, as opposed to tearing each other down]. It's kind of a thing to balance rocks in random places sometimes throughout the mountain regions of Colorado. I'm not sure how popular this is elsewhere in the world, and I wouldn't say it's very popular here, but it's something you see enough to recognize there's kind of an unspoken community of these rock balancers.


In fact, this is definitely more of a trend in Boulder, Colorado. So much so I've even read debate about whether or not this is harmful to the ecosystem. There was a point when the city of Boulder outlawed doing this, and I'm not too sure how effective that was. Honestly haven't done much more research regarding it, but I have always enjoyed the stone stacking of this guy who goes by Gravity Glue. He lives in Boulder (as far as I know, or at least this video was taken from various locations in Boulder), and makes some of the most astonishing videos of him balancing rocks. I wanted to share one of my favorite videos of his...






When he shows the structures falling down in reverse, it is so trippy! It gives the appearance that they are being built by some invisible force, and it is hard not to go into a trance watching them construct! You always think his structures have no way to sustain themselves, and it makes you wonder how he decides which stones to choose for balancing. Some of his structures are even strong enough to somehow withstand the currents of the streams he builds them in. He's a master builder! Insane amounts of focus for sure.




Thank you so much to those of you who have supported me on my Steemit journey so far! I am absolutely in love with this platform and community, and have shared this love I feel from the community with others to show them how different this place is. Just when you think there's not a lot of people out there like you, you find an awesome platform like Steemit to prove you wrong. See you guys around! I look forward to continue the growth.



Don't forget my other awesome posts!!!!!


Falseyedols Premiere Beat Cypher Contest- Big rewards up for grabs!

Voices from the Mountains Radio on MSPWaves. Interview with @elimence

Beat Battle Season 2, Round 4 Entry: Dance Naked featuring Fayro

Falseyedols Block Mountain Entry: Over the Block Mountain



Much love to everyone! Don't forget to also leave a thoughtful comment. I always upvote and comment back, and who knows, you may get new followers from being so thoughtful. Let's continue to build that value onto our beloved block chain.



falseyedolsbannerblogsteemit.jpg

rockymountainsteem.png

Falseyedolshiresgreen.jpg

Sort:  

Love your blog! nice photos

Gravity Glue's rock balancing is really cool. I'm not sure how he does it but I wouldn't complain if I came across one of his structures.

That top photo of rocks looks like a cairn, which maybe you already know is used to mark an established route through the mountains, usually where no actual trail exists. Either way, the "build each other up" metaphor is appropriate. :)

Congrats on surpassing 500 followers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63540.43
ETH 2481.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66