In An Icy Embrace ...

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Hub and I have spent this weekend on dates. Today, he took me to Sonsbeek Park to eat out and check the market out. I regret waking up late and leaving the house late because I missed out on some things that perhaps Western people may think a common spectacle but for an Asian like me, they are those that make my jaw drop or maybe am pretty shallow and easy to please.

Just when we were about to step in the car, we noticed that there were ice on the car so he had to scrape them off and just when I was supposed to sit inside while waiting for him since it was -1 degree Celcius, I stooped down fixing my shawl and saw these.

On the way to Sonsbeek Park I found the turf looking like a canvas so I helped myself some more taking pics of browned Beech tree leaves, acorn leaves and all sort of browned leaves all ice coated.

A few more steps and I found a few red leaves on the fence of a home for the aged and though it was cold and my fingers were starting to feel stiff and as if stung by needles I couldn't help but went back to those leaves though we may no longer be able to see the Sonsbeek Market open. I just can't let such mementos with nature go. My hub is very supportive of me so he went back and curiously checked out what on earth I was taking a pic of. Frozen dew drops - laid on a red leaf of a red five finger plant that has fallen on the algaed fence.

I asked him to scratch it to show you that they are indeed frozen and to show how puny they are.

A few steps away, since hub's strides mean 3 times of steps for me, he found one more and teased me waving the leaf saying;" Here, there's one more here but it's on the other side of the leaf, hurry and - like a dog going after a bone, I had to haste for the fear of him waving it into the air - would make those tears like frozen dewdrops thaw. I've caught up in time. However, it was already dark and the light has left us I used the flash to capture these thawing frozen dew drops. It was just past 16:00 and it already looks like 20:00. It's a 15 minute walk we have to take to get to the market before they start closing.

Off, we headed to the park and I had to breathe deeper and deeper since for some reasons I don't understand, though I was wearing winter boots they seem not enough to keep me warm, I was feeling needles piercing in my toes half way to the Stads Villa. Just so you guys have an idea to how dark it already looked like, here are a few pics I took 20 minutes later after taking the last leaf's pic . Yes, we've made it in time.

I took both of these with my Samsung Galaxy Note 1 because it can take clearer pictures from afar compared to my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition phone.

Later on, I found more of those frozen dew drops on these glass blades and I couldn't resist but take another shot using the flash this time. It was pitch black later on that we had to use the torch feature on our phones to get back to our car.

Curious how on earth those crystal balls of ice on those grass blades form I surfed the net and found out they are called "Frost" . The ones we have are called white frost since it's always wet and humid in The Netherlands and the ice hub had to scrape on the glass parts of our car is called window frost. The frost on those leaves on the turf are called advection frost which is caused by the strong wind or just a gust. It is in other words - frozen air. So, it is really already winter because advection frost only takes place when the temperature drops below 0 degree celcius.

Though it's very cold I just can't wait for snow to come. That means, the light is back according to @oaldamster's article and where I live is just so beautiful in snowy winter and most of all, I would like to experience Sonsbeek ice coated. How about where you are - are there any frost on the turf or are you already in a winter wonderland?



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

I took the rest of the pictures with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition.

FOLLOW ME @

*** Want to boost your post? Use steemboost ***

Sort:  

You have some really fantastic shots here. Macros are hard to get sharp. This is my favourite:

The composition is just beautiful.

@thecryptofiend thank you am thrilled :D
I cropped it cause I picked up from other photographers there shouldn't be much craps :D and I posted it horizontal first cause i rotated it - then brought it back to vertical :D

It looks fantastic:) Yes another trick is to get rid of extraneous things that you don't want in Photoshop but if you can just do it with cropping it is even better!

@thecryptofiend thank you for resteeming Sir, I should have made that the 1st pic :D

upvoted beautiful photos.

@freecrypto thank you very much :)

You're welcome.

Beautiful photos, and a nice story about your date! Thanks!

@creatr thank you :)
EDIT: am always too late with yours :D sorry
so am your "sometimes" friend :)

No, my Dear,
You are always my friend...
And sometimes you see my posts in time to vote the up! I am thankful. ;)

I have the same trouble, can't be everywhere at once... ;)

@creatr thank you for understanding - <3!

Great pictures. Reminding me of how cold it can be some places.

Nice shots. I was hoping to see some from the market

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Lovely photographs.....they are keepsakes...to be treasured. Leaves have a fascination....do they not.

Thank you for bringing the gems of winter to Steemit.

All the best. Cheers.)

@bleujay thank you
your comment always warmth the heart :)
still waiting for a full blast snow :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48