DEK Photography: The Cat That Killed Nikon's Dynamic Range

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

We used to take care of a male street cat, who was black, save for a white spot below his neck. That was ten, maybe fifteen years ago. He was a very smart cat, whom you could communicate with like a human. He knew how to hunt birds, but most importantly, how to steal cat food from the pet store without being noticed - we went and paid every time he returned with a new pouch, only to enjoy the shocked look of the seller, who'd say "Not again... I never see him come in or get out!"

And he was also a Casanova - he'd be gone for a week, only to return half his weight. So now, every time I see a cat with a white spot on its neck, I know its either one of his grand grand children or some distant sibling. And I always enjoy such encounters, especially when I can get their attention - like this guy, whom I've apparently spooked :)

2017062202.jpg
Taken @ 50mm, f/2.8, 1/200s, ISO 3200.

I had to use all data from the RAW file in order to extract something from the highlights, after I metered off of the cat's lovely black fur. And then I had to use some heavy vignetting, to balance things out. If I'd used matrix metering, the image would've been flat!

Cat, you 0wn3d Nikon! :D


I hope you enjoyed this post! See more of my work on #dek-photography (filter by "new")!


Check out some of my previous posts:

Sort:  

Nice to read memories about the cat and the photo is outstanding. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for commenting! :)

I read your post about the destroyed mosque. IS is notorious for destroying world heritage sites - a sign of flat headed leadership, once again proving that they are receiving external funding to wreak havoc.

Thank you @dek. The world should be peaceful and all humans irrespective of their religion should live in peace.

Cool cat, and cooler connection to the cat!

Yes, really cool :)

Most excellent story, as well as photo. Thanks.

I appreciate the comment, thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59155.91
ETH 2515.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47