DEK Photography: Last Week's Photos in a Single Post!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Here are all of last week's photos, which I posted for your viewing pleasure. I hope you enjoy them, as much as I did taking them!

In order of publication:

DEK Photography: A dancing girl at the fountain (SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry)

This particular photo was taken at sunset - I watched a small girl caught up in her lovely dance, in the middle of the fountains, soaking wet, not a care in the world! I couldn't resist capturing this moment - a much dreamer version of what little boys do when they spot a puddle :)

DEK Photography - A dancing girl at the fountain
You can click for a bigger image!

DEK Photography: The accidental perfect portrait light

I almost never use artificial lighting when taking photos, which often results in rather bland, flat images. It's definitely difficult and rare to find the exact moment in time, when appropriate natural light and an interesting subject occupy the same space.

But sometimes, just sometimes, the light is just perfect for taking the portrait of a little girl.

DEK Photography: The accidental perfect portrait light
You can click for a bigger image!

DEK Photography: Whatever you do, there's always a cat watching you!

I was looking at this old rusted gate and was thinking that it might make a great macro shot. And then I realized I was being watched.

DEK Photography: Whatever you do, there's always a cat watching you!
You can click for a bigger image!

Getting some more confidence - maybe he needs a photo for the kitty social network? Didn't give me his kitty mail address, though - hope he's on Steemit!

DEK Photography: Whatever you do, there's always a cat watching you!
You can click for a bigger image!

DEK Photography: A Happy Doggie

She's really smiling isn't she? It's not just me, right?

DEK Photography: A Happie Doggie
You can click for a bigger image!

A very lucky shot, considering that it was difficult shooting close to her face, at eye level, at 50mm and a very wide aperture, because of the relatively low light conditions. I think it's a perfect portrait of Lory - an adorable and smart doggie, playing with her apple :)

DEK Photography: A Happie Doggie
You can click for a bigger image!

DEK Photography: Food?

This cat had a stunningly powerful presence and was also very talkative. Followed us around for a bit, complaining about not being hugged and massaged enough.

DEK Photography: Food?
You can click for a bigger image!

DEK Photography: An Urban Lion in its Natural Habitat

This sleek street cat was both curious and afraid of the big asshole, crouching in front of her, with a clicking black box in front of his face. Was I preparing for an attack, communicating or maybe bringing in some food?

I really love the matching colors of the grass and the eyes of this confused cute kitty.

DEK Photography: An Urban Lion in its Natural Habitat
You can click for a bigger image!

DEK Photography: Waiting at the Dock

It's the 1920s. The city docks. A lovely girl is waiting for her sailor husband to arrive. The reflection on the car door reveals a fisherman, hoping to catch his family's dinner. It's the Great Depression and everyone is scraping by somehow. Money is not a problem only for the mobsters, peering at the port from their tall glass building in the distance.

DEK Photography: Waiting at the Dock
You can click for a bigger image!

It was actually a wedding shoot. I dropped in and took a couple of shots of the bridesmaids. But the fictional story complements the photo much better, right?

DEK Photography: Yawning Kitty of the Day

Must be sleepy time! Caught this green eyed monster at the backyard of an apartment building.

DEK Photography: Yawning Kitty of the Day
You can click for a bigger image!

It now occurs to me that the cat may have been saying: "Waaazaaaa!" :D

DEK Photography: Two Natural Enemies

A bee and a wasp. One carrying the earth's ecosystem on its shoulders, the other - trying to kill him.

DEK Photography: Two Natural Enemies
You can click for a bigger image!

I took these two photos on the very same bush, where hundreds of bees and the occasional wasp, were feeding and gathering nectar. And when I say feeding, I mean wasps eating bees.

Yep - almost every minute a fight would brake out - a wasp and a bee, caught in a deadly fight, each trying to sting the other. More often the wasp would win, then carry the body of the bee back to its hive, where the larva would feed on it. In return, larva secret a sugary substance, which the wasps feed on.

DEK Photography: Two Natural Enemies
You can click for a bigger image!

The wasp queen stops laying new larva in Autumn, so wasps are left with nothing to eat - you will then see them on your food or more commonly - on your face, trying to eat you alive. Or at least sting you, for not tasting good enough.

DEK Photography: Minimalism (SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry #10)

My three entries for the Minimalism competition. The last one is not truly in minimalist style, but close enough for me to share it - I really like the composition of the photo and the use of negative space to create a "nest" for the cat.

The sea is getting colder, but this lady decided to take a swim in the calm waters of the Black Sea. The rings of water she's creating, while slowly swimming, spread out throughout the entire photo.

DEK Photography: Minimalism
You can click for a bigger image!

This photo is named "Perseverance" - I've been always fascinated by Nature's ability to create life where we've tried to keep it away - in this case with huge slabs of concrete.

DEK Photography: Minimalism
You can click for a bigger image!

A cuddled up kitty, sleeping in the haystack, having the greatest nap of all time. Took this photo stretching over a fence - the cat wouldn't care less that I was basically hanging on top of it. I've added some vignetting to keep the attention of the viewer on the cat and not on the busy texture of the hay. I wonder: if cats made nests, is this how one would look like?

DEK Photography: Minimalism
You can click for a bigger image!

DEK Photography: I Think You Lost Something, There!

So, I was heading my way with my trusty Nikon, looking for things to shoot, and then WHAM!, someone's teeth on the ground.

You know, I live in Bulgaria, and I've seen many different things on the street (certainly not money - this gets noticed fast!), but I pity the poor orthodontist, who lost his client's teeth.

DEK Photography: I Think You Lost Something, There!
You can click for a bigger image. I dare you to!

Well, I guess it wasn't a complete loss - someone is probably enjoying the missing teeth. But I can't help but wonder - did the orthodontist implant them in one of his clients, or did someone help himself to a couple of new teeth, when he saw them laying on the street?

DEK Photography: A Bee in Mid Flight (Micro photography with the Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 G)

Time for a bee fact!
Bees are actually completely silent in flight. The buzzing sound we often associate with bees is not actually produced by the fast movement of their wings, but by special organs, used to communicate with other bees - not only revealing the location of nectar (which is often aided by complex "dancing"), but to assert dominance among other individuals.

DEK Photography: A Bee in Mid Flight (Micro photography with the Nikkor 50mm 1.8G)
Nikkor 50mm 1.8 G, f/5.6, 1/800s. You can click for a bigger image!

DEK Photography: Yet Another Thing I Found on the Ground

DEK Photography: Yet Another Thing I Found on the Ground
You can click for a bigger image! Go on, it won't get on your clothes!

Most people will ignore this lovely scoop of ice-cream; at best, they will swivel out of its way, protecting their precious branded sneakers. But, some - a very few - will crouch down and examine it, in all of its melting glory: Did a small child drop it? Did this pink ball of frozen milk and sugar mean the whole world to her, or did she get a new one, leaving this poor fellow on the warm pavement?

I've no idea. But I've just made you crouch down with me and dream for a bit.

Thank you for taking the time to look through this week's photos! Be sure to follow #dek-photography for more of my work!

Sort:  

First shot is a killer shot :)

I think so too, one of my favorites. A bit sad it didn't get enough attention and neither a honorable mention in the competition - but I'm glad you appreciated it! :)

Followed you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44